//
PROJECTS | 2019 | INSIDE HVA

INSIDE HVA

A German Service in the Cold War

Author & Director:
Daniel Ast | Jürgen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Jens Stubenrauch | Rolf Bergmann | Anaïs Roth

Duration:
2 x 45'

Coproduction:
astfilm productions | RBB | MDR // ARD

The HVA, the "Hauptverwaltung Aufklärung" (headquarters intelligence) of the Ministry of State Security, was the GDR's worldwide operating foreign secret service. One of the most effective espionage organizations of the 20th century. A myth, a "stealth bomber" of Moscow, which often flew under the radar of the western secret services. A shadow empire, from which images seldom filtered out. A black box.

The HVA, which considered itself an elite force, was marked by the spirit of the Cold War and the paranoia of class struggle. In the end, it had over four thousand so called "hauptamtliche Mitarbeiter" (full-time staff members). Corporal spirit and blind obedience, inventive in the art of disguise, conspiracy as a profession and purpose in life, these were their maxims. In the GDR the HVA recruited over thirteen thousand "IM’s" (unofficial employees). About two thousand "sources", spies, they had installed worldwide in the so-called "operation area".

Who were these "scouts" who never considered themselves spies and who still call themselves "scouts of peace" today? What were their motives for working in the HVA and spying for the GDR? Did they see themselves as patriots, revolutionaries or as an appendage of the KGB? How did they experience the end of the GDR and the time after?

Inside views from a world that was largely, until today, closed off. For the first time, numerous high-ranking HVA employees speak out in front of the camera. Exterior views of their Western and Eastern intelligence "colleagues" provide a highly exciting and enlightening overall picture. "Inside HVA - A German Service in the Cold War" is the psychogram of a communist secret service with a German face.

//
PROJEKTE | 2019 | INSIDE HVA

INSIDE HVA

Ein deutscher Dienst im Kalten Krieg

Autor & Regie:
Daniel Ast | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Jens Stubenrauch | Rolf Bergmann | Anaïs Roth

Länge:
2 x 45'

Koproduktion:
astfilm productions | RBB | MDR // ARD

Die HVA, die Hauptverwaltung Aufklärung des Ministeriums für Staatssicherheit war der weltweit agierende Auslandsgeheimdienst der DDR. Einer der effektivsten Spionageorganisationen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Ein Mythos, ein "Tarnkappenbomber" Moskaus, der oft unter dem Radar der westlichen Geheimdienste flog. Ein Schattenreich, aus dem nur selten Bilder nach außen drangen. Eine Black Box.

Die HVA, die sich selbst als eine Elitetruppe ansah, war geprägt vom Geist des Kalten Krieges und der Paranoia des Klassenkampfs. Am Ende gehörten ihr über viertausend hauptamtliche Mitarbeiter an. Korpsgeist und blinder Gehorsam, erfinderisch in der Kunst der Verstellung, Konspiration als Beruf und Lebensinhalt, das waren ihre Maxime. In der DDR rekrutierte die HVA über dreizehntausend inoffizielle Mitarbeiter. Etwa zweitausend "Quellen", Spione, hatte sie weltweit im sogenannten "Operationsgebiet" installiert.

Wer waren diese "Aufklärer", die sich selbst nie als Spione ansahen und sich auch heute noch "Kundschafter des Friedens" nennen? Aus welchen Motiven arbeiteten sie in der HVA beziehungsweise spionierten für die DDR? Sahen sie sich als Patrioten, als Revolutionäre oder als ein Anhängsel des KGB? Wie erlebten sie das Ende der DDR und die Zeit danach?

Innenansichten aus einer zum großen Teil, bis heute, verriegelten Welt. Erstmalig äußern sich zahlreiche hochrangige HVA-Mitarbeiter vor der Kamera, Außenansichten ihrer westlichen und östlichen Geheimdienst-"Kollegen" ergeben ein höchst spannendes und aufschlussreiches Gesamtbild. "Inside HVA - Ein deutscher Dienst im Kalten Krieg" ist das Psychogramm eines kommunistischen Geheimdienstes mit deutschem Antlitz.