// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2014 | THE GALLERIST

THE GALLERIST

series: "The East Germans - 25 Paths into a New Land"

// series nominated for Grimme-Award 2015

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast | Manuela Martinson

Commissioning Editors:
Rolf Bergmann | Jens Stubenrauch

Duration:
15'

Internet:

Coproduction:
credo:film | RBB | funded by Medienboard Berlin Brandenburg and with means of the Federal Foundation for the reappraise of the SED-Dictatorship

The collapse of the East German system, that some West Germans only experienced as kind of a side-show, for the former East Germans it was a sudden and dramatic change, a fundamental reorientation at work, at home. But it was also a big chance: traveling, career, happiness. How can one make the mental change of a group visible? Let individuals tell their very personal story, back at that moment in time, when everything changed. 25 paths of life, every story as a part of the "big picture". What has become of them, and what has remained? The German Democratic Republic is gone, the memories stay.

The episode "The Gallerist" tells the story of Gerd Harry Lybke from Leipzig. With his gallery EIGEN+ART, he wrote part of the East German art history, and today, he is one of the most important German gallerists worldwide. "For ever-lasting", "worldwide fame", "creating a myth" - Gerd Harry Lybke, or Judy, as his friends call him, had never dealt with less than superlatives. Not during the years in the East, not in the first years after the German reunification, and certainly not today. "I always stayed the one I used to be, and at once I invented myself again and again." For Lybke, the fall of the Berlin Wall was not an end, but one more page to be turned.

Gerd Harry Lybke regards his enterprise as kind of a "family business". For him it is important that the artists and the staff "belong together", the human factor is important. With inexhaustible energy, he is constantly in search of a new challenge. He was, and he is a phenomenon, called many names. He regards himself more as a go-between, a "ferry captain for artists". But he regards himself also as a "vampire that nourishes himself on the universe of the artists, by living with them their life." The path of an East German - the gallerist Gerd Harry Lybke.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2014 | DER GALERIST

DER GALERIST

Reihe: "Die Ostdeutschen - 25 Wege in ein neues Land"

// Reihe nominiert für den Grimme-Preis 2015

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast | Manuela Martinson

Redaktion:
Rolf Bergmann | Jens Stubenrauch

Länge:
15'

Internet:

Koproduktion:
credo:film | RBB | gefördert durch Medienboard Berlin Brandenburg und mit Mitteln der Bundeststiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur

Der System-Kollaps, den manche Westdeutsche eher nebenbei erlebten, bedeutete für den ehemaligen DDR Bürger Brüche, Enttäuschungen, eine komplette Neuorientierung, beruflich, oft auch privat. Oder aber die ganz große Chance, Reisen, Karriere, neues Glück. Wie macht man den mentalen Wandel einer Gruppe sichtbar? Indem einzelne Menschen ihre persönliche Geschichte erzählen können. 25 Lebenswege, jede Episode für sich, so dass man jederzeit einsteigen kann und doch eine Gesamterzählung erhält. Wer sind diese Menschen geworden und wer sind sie geblieben? Die DDR ist weg, die Erinnerung bleibt.

Die Folge "Der Galerist" erzählt die Geschichte des Leipzigers Gerd Harry Lybke, der mit seiner Galerie EIGEN+ART DDR-Kunstgeschichte geschrieben hat und heute einer der wichtigsten deutschen Galeristen in der Welt ist. Ewigkeitsanspruch, Weltruhm, einen Mythos schaffen - unterhalb von Superlativen hat sich Gerd Harry Lybke oder Judy, wie ihn seine Freunde nennen, nie etwas vorgenommen. Nicht zu Ostzeiten, nicht in den ersten Jahren nach der Wiedervereinigung und auch heute nicht. "Ich bin immer der geblieben, der ich war, und habe mich immer wieder neu erfunden." Für Lybke war der Mauerfall kein Ende, sondern einer von vielen Anfängen.

Gerd Harry Lybke versteht sein Unternehmen als "Familienbetrieb", ihm liegt viel daran, dass die Künstler, die Mitarbeiter und er "zusammengehören", es muss immer menschlich passen. Immer wieder sucht er die Herausforderung, mit einer schier unerschöpflichen Energie. Er war und ist ein Phänomen, dem man viele Etiketten und Namen geben kann. Er selbst sieht sich als Vermittler, als einen "Fährmann für Künstler". Aber auch als ein "Vampir, der sich aus dem Universum der Künstler ernährt, indem er ihr Leben mit lebt". Der Weg eines Ostdeutschen - der Galerist Gerd Harry Lybke.