// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2013 | STALIN'S DEATH

STALIN'S DEATH

The End of an Era

Author & Director:
Martin Huebner | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Rolf Bergmann | Dr. Katja Wildermuth

Duration:
45' | World Sales: NEW DOCS

Production:
astfilm productions | for RBB | MDR // ARD

Moscow, March 5th 1953. Stalin is dead. One day later, he is lying in state in an open coffin. Over one and a half million people move through the streets of Moscow. A last farewell for the man they worship like a god. Eyes full of tears. For three days they mourn in deep grief the loss of their "Leader" - their "Father", the "Greatest Man of our Time". During five minutes of silence throughout the East Bloc time seems to stop, as the coffin is laid to rest in the Mausoleum at the Red Square. They can't believe that he has left them. How can we go on without Stalin? What will become of us? The sudden death of Stalin creates a gigantic vacuum.

The film tells the true story of the last days in the life of Stalin, the story of his dying. March 2nd 1953. Stalin's secret Dacha in Kuntsevo near Moscow. Nobody of the bodyguards or combatants is really prepared, when the guard commander finds Stalin unconscious on the floor of his private office. No one can tell when the fatal stroke occurred, because no one of the guards has permission to disturb Stalin. The true story of the "Immortal's dying", for decades it was only known to the inner circle of Stalin's entourage. Stalin is dead, but the established system of terror and murder is still working. A deadly power struggle broke out and to the surprise of many, at the end it is Nikita Khrushchev to become the new leader of the Soviet Empire. The ruthless Beria, the Director of the Secret Service, by many regarded as Stalin's natural heir, he is executed the same year that Stalin died.

60 years after the death of the Dictator, the documentary takes a in-depth look at the story of a dramatic historical impact in the middle of the 20th Century. It tells about the tremor, the fear and the hope of the people. The contrariness appears as much as the bizarre and the absurd. 1953 strongly changed the history of the Soviet Union and the Eastern Bloc.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2013 | STALINS TOD

STALINS TOD

Das Ende einer Ära

Autor & Regie:
Martin Hübner | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Rolf Bergmann | Dr. Katja Wildermuth

Länge:
45' | World Sales: NEW DOCS

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des RBB | MDR // ARD

5. März 1953. Stalin ist tot. Einen Tag später liegt er aufgebahrt im offenen Sarg. Über 1,5 Millionen Menschen machen sich auf den Weg durch Moskau, wollen Abschied nehmen von einem "Gottgleichen" - von ihrem "Väterchen", vom "größten Menschen der Epoche". Drei Tage dauern die Trauerfeierlichkeiten. Die Verzweiflung steht den Menschen ins Gesicht geschrieben. Die Zeit scheint stehen zu bleiben, als der ganze Ostblock in fünf Schweigeminuten seinem toten Führer gedenkt, als der Sarg in das Mausoleum auf dem Roten Platz getragen wird. Wie soll, wie kann es weitergehen ohne Stalin? Was wird kommen? Ein Vakuum ist mit Stalins Tod entstanden.

Der Film erzählt von den letzten Tagen in Stalins Leben, von seinem Sterben. In den Morgenstunden des 2. März 1953 in Stalins geheimer Datscha in Kunzewo am Rand von Moskau. Weder die Leibwächter noch die engsten Mitstreiter sind auf den Ernstfall vorbereitet, als der wachhabende Offizier meldet, er habe Stalin bewusstlos im Arbeitszimmer vorgefunden. Wann ihn der Schlag getroffen hatte, konnte niemand genau sagen, denn der Wache war es untersagt, Stalin zu stören. Das reale Szenarium des Sterbens des "Unsterblichen" hat damals nur der engste Zirkel der Stalin-Vertrauten mitbekommen. "Stalins Tod" erzählt aber auch die Geschichte des mörderischen Machtkampfes im Kreml, der sich anschloss. Nikita Chruschtschow war es, der beim Kampf um die Stalin-Nachfolge - zur Überraschung vieler - triumphierte. Der hoch gehandelte und gefürchtete einstige Geheimdienstchef Berija dagegen endete 1953 vor einem Erschießungskommando.

Die Dokumentation erzählt 60 Jahre nach dem Tod des Diktators von einem einzigartigen historischen Umbruch in der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts, berichtet von der Erschütterung, der Angst und der Hoffnung, die Menschen damit verbanden. Das Widersprüchliche, das Bizarre und Absurde der damaligen Ereignisse kommen zum Vorschein. Das Jahr 1953 hat die Geschichte der Sowjetunion und des Ostblocks nachhaltig geprägt.