// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2013 | DOCUMENTING A CLOSE-DOWN

DOCUMENTING A CLOSE-DOWN

The End of the Faculty for Forest Economy Eberswalde - 1963

// 11th. Eberswalde Film Festival ("Heimatfenster")

Author & Director:
Burghard Ciesla | Daniel Ast

Duration:
60'

Coproduction:
astfilm productions | Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development

In August 1962, the SED-Leadership gave the order to close the Faculty for Forest Economy Eberswalde of the Humboldt University. On September 1st, ended the 130 years long tradition of the worldwide recognized academic education in the "forest city". It was the "final chord", the end for a place with an excellent reputation and such a long lasting tradition in forestal teachings and research. Officially those steps were taken to be able to reform the system of higher education due to concentration and simplification. But the economic arguments, that were given by those on top to justify the close-down, they were nothing more than alibis. One of the crucial accusations was: "... because of missing political education."

In the midst of the 50th, the faculty got into the intrigues of the Cold War. There were supposed and real agents, enemies of the party, informants, schemes and defamations. Hundreds of reports by the Stasi. Students, employees and professors were observed, even by colleagues. Some had to face their removal from the register of students, arrest and condemnation. Many, as long as it was still possible, escaped into the West. After the rise of the Berlin Wall, a dramatic change took place. At a meeting of the central committee in 1962, presided by Erich Honecker, the closure of the faculty was decided.

In this documentary former students and professors for the first time tell of their stories and their "alma mater". They talk about the high spirit of a new start after the 2nd World War, their hopes, the daily student's life, the starting torments, and the new political ideology that applied constant pressure. Their personal stories document the close-down of the faculty. The research for the film disclosed many unknown documents, that partly shade a new light on the events that took place. Only past 1990, the forestal teachings and with it the traditions were able to return to Eberswalde. Today, the lecture halls are well filled, around 2000 Students are again part of the daily life in the city.

The documentation "Documenting a Close-Down" was produced on assignment for, and in cooperation with the Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development, within the framework of the commemoration of the 50th memorial day of the closure of the faculty, and the conference on October 22nd 2013 "... because of missing political education".

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2013 | PROTOKOLL EINER SCHLIESSUNG

PROTOKOLL EINER SCHLIESSUNG

Das Ende der Forstwirtschaftlichen Fakultät Eberswalde - 1963

// 11. Filmfest Eberswalde ("Heimatfenster")

Autor & Regie:
Burghard Ciesla | Daniel Ast

Länge:
60'

Koproduktion:
astfilm productions | HNE Eberswalde

Im August 1962 ordnete die SED-Führung die Schließung der Forstwirtschaftlichen Fakultät Eberswalde der Humboldt-Universität an. Zum 1. September 1963 endete nach mehr als 130 Jahren die weltweit anerkannte Hochschullehre in der "Waldstadt". Schlussakkord. Das unwiderrufliche Aus für einen renommierten und traditionsreichen Ort der forstlichen Lehre und Forschung. Offiziell erfolgte die Auflösung aus Gründen der Konzentration und Vereinfachung der Hochschulausbildung. Doch die ökonomischen Argumente, mit denen von Oben die Fakultätsschließung begründet wurde, waren vorgeschoben. Einer der entscheidenden Vorwürfe lautete: "… wegen mangelhafter politischer Erziehung".

In den fünfziger Jahren geriet die Fakultät in die Ränkespiele des Kalten Krieges. Es gab wahre und vermeintliche Agenten, Parteifeinde, Informanten, Intrigen und Verleumdungen. Hunderte Berichte der Staatssicherheit. Studenten, Angestellte und Professoren wurden observiert, auch von Kollegen aus den eigenen Reihen. Es gab Exmatrikulationen, Verhaftungen und Verurteilungen. Viele flohen, solange es noch ging, in den Westen. Nach dem Mauerbau verschärfte sich die Lage noch mehr. Unter Vorsitz von Erich Honecker wurde 1962 auf einer Sitzung des Sekretariats des Zentralkomitees die Auflösung der Fakultät beschlossen.

In der Dokumentation erzählen zum ersten Mal ehemalige Studenten und Professoren ihre persönliche Geschichte und die ihrer "Alma Mater". Sie berichten von der Aufbruchsstimmung nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges, über ihre Hoffnungen, über das Studentenleben, die beginnenden Drangsalierungen und das neue politisch-ideologische Korsett. Mit ihren persönlichen Geschichten protokolieren sie die Schließung der Fakultät. Die Recherchen zum Film brachten auch neue Dokumente zum Vorschein, die zum Teil ein neues Licht auf die damaligen Ereignisse werfen. Erst nach 1990 konnten die forstliche Lehre und damit die Traditionen wieder nach Eberswalde zurückkehren. Die Hörsäle sind inzwischen gut gefüllt, heute gibt es wieder rund 2.000 Studenten und sie prägen das Eberswalder Stadtbild.

Die Dokumentation "Protokoll einer Schließung" entstand im Auftrag und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde im Rahmen der Gedenkveranstaltung zum 50. Jahrestag der Schließung der Fakultät und der dazugehörigen Tagung "... wegen mangelhafter politischer Erziehung" vom 22. Oktober 2013.