// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2011 | WHEN THE EAST TRAVELED THROUGH THE WEST

WHEN THE EAST TRAVELED THROUGH THE WEST

The East German State Railway in West-Berlin

Author & Director:
Burghard Ciesla | Daniel Ast | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Jens Stubenrauch

Duration:
45'

Coproduction:
astfilm productions | RBB | funded with means of the Federal Foundation for the reappraise of the SED-Dictatorship

One of the strangest stories in German-German history is the story of the East-German so called "Deutsche Reichsbahn" in West-Berlin. Even during the Cold War, the necessary timetables for the traffic on the tracks through the west of the city, they were scheduled in the East. The nationally owned company "Deutsche Reichsbahn", was in the name of the Allied Forces the one to be in charge of the railroad traffic in Berlin. Thousands of employees, over 300 kilometers of tracks and a web of Buildings and Stations belonged to the only socialistic enterprise in West-Berlin. All set up with Activists, Brigades, Party Leaders, Plans, pictures of Marx and Thaelmann on the walls at the stations in West-Berlin and waving GDR-Flags on October 7th, the National Holiday of the German Democratic Republic.

The East-German state railway became a symbol of the struggle between the East and the West, a communist bastion in West-Berlin. The ongoing dispute over the "delicate business" did last throughout the Cold War. Also the former heart of the Berlin railway system, the commuter train, was to be in charge of the GDR Ministry of Traffic. Daily, hundreds of thousands West-Berliners traveled with their "S-Bahn". Until August 1961.

After the Wall was build, the West started a boycott. "No more western money for the barbed wire of Ulbricht!". In consequence the "S-Bahn" became some kind of "Ghost-Train-System" and the financial loss for the GDR was immense. But the GDR didn't give up easily it's "Foreign Branch of Socialism". Only after many years of negotiations, the transfer to the BVG, the West-Berlin traffic company, was realized.

The "Deutsche Reichsbahn", for it's employees it was like a "Family-Business". For most people in West-Berlin, it was nothing more than a blot. Most workers came from West-Berlin and many regarded them as a kind of "Fifth-Brigade" of the SED, the Socialistic Unity Party of the GDR. Interviews with former employees, Members of the senate and staff of the GDR Ministry of Traffic, they all recall the decisive moments and grant a in-depth look at unknown facts, in a world full of borderline cases between the East and the West.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2011 | ALS DER OSTEN DURCH DEN WESTEN FUHR

ALS DER OSTEN DURCH DEN WESTEN FUHR

Die Geschichte der Deutschen Reichsbahn in West-Berlin

Autor & Regie:
Burghard Ciesla | Daniel Ast | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Jens Stubenrauch

Länge:
45'

Koproduktion:
astfilm productions | RBB | gefördert mit Mitteln der Bundeststiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur

Eine der merkwürdigsten deutsch-deutschen Geschichten ist die der ostdeutschen Reichsbahn in West-Berlin. Im Kalten Krieg fuhren auch im Westteil der Stadt die Züge nach sozialistischem Fahrplan. Die volkseigene "Deutsche Reichsbahn" der DDR sicherte im Auftrag der Alliierten den Eisenbahnbetrieb in ganz Berlin. Tausende Beschäftigte, mehr als 300 Kilometer Schienenwege und ein Netz von Gebäuden und Anlagen gehörten zum einzigen sozialistischen Großbetrieb in West-Berlin. Mit Aktivisten, Brigaden, Parteileitung, Plan und Wettbewerb. Mit Marx und Thälmann an der Wand, mit wehenden DDR-Fahnen am 7. Oktober, dem Nationalfeiertag der DDR, auf den Westberliner S-Bahnhöfen.

Die Reichsbahn in West-Berlin wurde zu einem Faustpfand der Westmächte und zu einer kommunistischen Trutzburg, zu einem Zankapfel des Kalten Krieges und zu einem delikaten deutsch-deutschen Geschäft. Auch das einstige Herzstück des gesamten Berliner Verkehrsnetzes, die S-Bahn, lag in Obhut des DDR-Verkehrsministeriums. Bis August 1961 fuhren Hunderttausende Westberliner Fahrgäste täglich mit ihr.

Nach dem Mauerbau kam es zum Boykott - "Kein West-Geld für Ulbrichts Stacheldraht". So verkam die S-Bahn zu einer "Geisterbahn", wurde ein immer größeres Verlustgeschäft für die DDR. Trotzdem gab die DDR diesen besonderen "Außenposten des Sozialismus" nicht so schnell auf. Erst nach jahrelangem Hin und Her erfolgte Mitte der achtziger Jahre die Übergabe der S-Bahn an die BVG.

Die Deutsche Reichsbahn war für die Beschäftigten jahrelang eine Art "Familienbetrieb". Für die meisten Westberliner aber war sie ein Schandfleck. Die Eisenbahner kamen fast alle aus Westberlin, sie galten als "Fünfte Kolonne der SED". Interviews mit den ehemaligen Reichsbahnern, mit Senatsangestellten und Mitarbeitern des DDR-Verkehrministeriums geben einmalige Einblicke in eine abgeschlossene Welt voller "Grenzerfahrungen" zwischen Ost und West.