// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2009 | WHEN THE EASTERN BLOC BECAME HISTORY

WHEN THE EASTERN BLOC BECAME HISTORY

Part 3 | Hungary - The Border Guard at the Iron Curtain

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Dr. Katja Wildermuth

Duration:
52'

Production:
LE Vision // ARTE

Hungary, early 1989 - the country is changing. During the early summer, tens of thousands of East-Germans are traveling to Hungary. They all are attracted by the hope of a better future and Hungary seems to be the loop-hole to freedom, to escape into the West. But agreements within the Warsaw-Pact destroy all hopes, the Borders remain closed. Countless refugees from the GDR are trapped in Hungary.

In the time, on August 19th 1989, close to the border between Hungary and Austria, next to the town of Sopron, a symbolic picnic of the East-West international understanding is taking place. Local reformists are responsible for the organization of the event. And for just a few hours they want to open an old gate at the border.

Actually the reformists in Budapest want to find out, how Moscow will react when masses of people try to break through the Iron Curtain. But no one of the local group responsible for the "event", nor anyone of the border guards is briefed. They all assume that possible refugees will be hold back long before they reach the border. The general orders for the Hungarian troops on duty on this day haven't been changed. "Hold back East-German refugees from crossing the border into the West, send them back - and, if necessary, use firearms is case of confrontation."

When hundreds of East-Germans suddenly make a run for the border, the soldier on guard, Officer Árpád Bella, has to make the decision of his life and everything hangs on it: either obey the orders and open fire, or throw away 20 years in military service. Either accept a bloodbath with all unpredictable consequences, or refuse to comply with the orders in the name of humanity.

His brave, lone decision and his courage make the wonder possible: a mass exodus of refugees, accelerating the collapse of the Eastern Bloc radically. Only a few months later - unthinkable for decades and for millions of people - the Berlin Wall fall and the Iron Curtain was consigned to history.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2009 | ALS DER OSTBLOCK GESCHICHTE WURDE

ALS DER OSTBLOCK GESCHICHTE WURDE

Teil 3 | Ungarn - Der Grenzer am Eisernen Vorhang

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Dr. Katja Wildermuth

Länge:
52'

Produktion:
LE Vision // ARTE

Ungarn Anfang 1989 - Ein Land im Umbruch. Die Öffnungspolitik hat mit dem Sommeranfang zehntausende Ostdeutsche ins Land gelockt, die angesichts der starren Haltung der DDR-Regierung ihre Zukunft woanders suchen wollen. Von Ungarn aus hoffen sie auf Fluchtmöglichkeit in den Westen. Doch die Abkommen innerhalb des Warschauer Pakts verpflichten den Donaustaat, das Grenzregime mit unveränderter Strenge fortzusetzen. Dadurch stecken massenhaft DDR-Bürger in Ungarn fest.

Vor diesem Hintergrund findet am 19. August 1989, im Grenzgebiet zwischen Ungarn und Österreich, in der Nähe der Stadt Sopron, ein symbolisches Picknick der Ost-West-Völkerverständigung statt. Lokale Reformkräfte haben es organisiert. Dabei soll auch ein altes Grenztor zu Österreich für ein paar Stunden geöffnet werden.

Die Budapester Reformer wollen testen, wie Moskau auf einen massenhaften Grenzdurchbruch am Eisernen Vorhang reagiert. Doch weder die Organisatoren vor Ort noch die Diensthabenden Grenzbeamten sind informiert. Sie alle gehen davon aus, dass etwaige DDR-Flüchtlinge wie üblich weit vor der Grenze abgefangen werden. Denn die gültigen Befehle der Grenzoffiziere sind für diesen Tag keineswegs außer Kraft, sondern ganz die alten: Flüchtlinge aufhalten, zurückschicken - und bei Zusammenstößen notfalls die Waffe benutzen.

Als hunderte Ostdeutsche die Grenze stürmen, steht der Dienst habende Grenzoffizier Árpád Bella vor der Entscheidung seines Lebens: Schießen, oder seine zwanzigjährige Karriere aufs Spiel setzen. Ein Blutbad mit nicht absehbaren Folgen in Kauf nehmen, oder entgegen seiner Befehle Menschlichkeit zeigen ...

Seine mutige einsame Entscheidung macht das Wunder möglich: Eine Massenflucht, die den Zusammenbruch des Ostblocks radikal beschleunigt. Nur wenige Monate später fällt die Berliner Mauer, der "Eiserne Vorhang" - für Millionen über Jahrzehnte undenkbar - war Geschichte geworden.