// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2009 | HONECKER'S "AIR FORCE ONE"

HONECKER'S "AIR FORCE ONE"

The GDR Government Air Squadron

Author:
Dirk Kuelow | Juergen Ast

Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Jens Stubenrauch

Duration:
45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for RBB

The "Air Force One" of the GDR - till today an unknown and untold story full of secrets. A story expanding from Bombay to Budapest, from Mexico City to Madrid, and from New York to Nairobi. Medicine, Money, Weapons, Wheat, Refugees, Arafat or Ortega, the GDR Government Air Squadron was responsible for the transport of all kind of cargo and passengers. But most of the time Ulbricht, Honecker & Co. were the guests on board. The official military name: "Air Transport Squadron 44", the so called "TG 44", the elite-force of the GDR Army for "special transport operations" by air. They operated worldwide, went to Moscow in uniform, and in civilian clothes to Bonn.

For the first time the "red Prussians of the air" talk about unknown, dramatic, funny and sometimes breathtaking stories. They carried amounts of up to 30.000 US Dollars in cash with them, because in may countries the necessary refueling was only possible with sufficient cash. Every Pilot had his own secret place to stash the money, or carried it on his body, to avoid any kind of trouble.

The "Air Force One" of the GDR was established in 1957. At the beginning in the 60's, mostly socialistic States became the destination for those official flights from the GDR. Later in the 70's, when the GDR was more and more recognized, they expanded the flight-routes rapidly. The "TG 44" unit grew to a mid-sized and secret airline with 20 airplanes and over one thousand employees. They were kept on duty during the "time of change". Only in 1992 the force was dismantled. A few of the unit were employed by the German Federal Armed Forces, others found a new job in civil-Aviation.

Honecker's "Air Force One" - a film telling the story of unusual lifelines: How did you become a member of the "TG 44"? How tough was the job being on duty 24/7? What of the elite-unit's glory is left? Interviews, original film-footage, many undisclosed documents and file-material permit "a look behind the mirror" on the secrets of the "Air Force One" of the GDR.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2009 | HONECKERS "AIR FORCE ONE"

HONECKERS "AIR FORCE ONE"

Die DDR-Regierungsflieger

Autor:
Dirk Külow | Jürgen Ast

Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Jens Stubenrauch

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des RBB

"Die Air Force One der DDR" - eine bis heute unbekannte, Geheimnis umwitterte und noch nicht erzählte Story. Eine Geschichte zwischen Bombay und Budapest, Mexiko-City und Madrid, New York und Nairobi. Ob Medizin oder Moneten, ob Waffen oder Weizen, ob Trassenbauer, Flüchtlinge, Arafat oder Ortega - die DDR-Regierungsflieger flogen alles, vor allem aber Ulbricht, Honecker & Co.. Das Transportgeschwader 44, so der offizielle militärische Name, war die Elitetruppe der DDR für besondere "Transportaufgaben" in der Luft, weltweit agierend, nach Moskau in Uniform, nach Bonn in Zivil.

Zum ersten Mal erzählen die "roten Preußen der Luft" unbekannte, dramatische, humorvolle und manchmal atemberaubende Geschichten. Im Reisegepäck hatte man auch schon mal 30.000 US-Dollar mit, denn in vielen Ländern musste das Auftanken in bar bezahlt werden. Jeder der Piloten hatte sein Geheimversteck oder trug die Dollars am Mann, damit ja nichts passierte.

Gegründet wurde die "Air Force One der DDR" 1957. Während es in den sechziger Jahre vor allem in die anderen sozialistischen Staaten ging, vergrößerte sich der Flugradius mit der zunehmenden Anerkennung der DDR in den Siebzigern rasant. Das TG 44 wuchs zu einer mittelgroßen, geheimen Fluggesellschaft mit einer Flotte von mehr als 20 Maschinen und über 1000 Mann Personal. Die Wendezeit überstand man, bis die Truppe 1992 aufgelöst wurde. Ein kleiner Teil der Mannschaft ging zur Bundeswehr, ein anderer in die zivile Luftfahrt.

"Air Force One der DDR" - Ein Film, der von außergewöhnlichen Lebenslinien erzählt: Wie wurde man ein Regierungsflieger? Wie hart war der Dienst Rund um die Uhr? Ein Film der auch nach Spuren sucht: Was ist geblieben vom Glanz einer einstigen Elitetruppe? Interviews, Realbilder, umfangreiches Archiv- und Amateurmaterial. "Air Force One der DDR" - eines der letzen unbeleuchteten Kapitel DDR-Geschichte.