// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2008 | OPERATION AIRLIFT

OPERATION AIRLIFT

The First Battle in the Cold War

Author & Director:
Daniel Ast | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Rolf Bergmann

Duration:
45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for RBB

The sky over Berlin - day and night the roar of the engines can be heard , every three minutes a "Raisin-Bomber" is flying over the roofs. For 462 days, between June 1948 and October 1949, the U.S. Air Force staged the biggest humanitarian mission in history, food and coal for more than two million people. With a total of 277.246 flights, the unthinkable was achieved, a steady transport of needed supplies for many months that guarantees the survival of the people in West-Berlin.

June 23rd 1948. During the night the soviets seal off all roads to West-Berlin. They also cut off all electrical supply to the city. Now it becomes obvious, how very vulnerable the city was. The Soviets want all western Allied-Forces out of Berlin, also to use the Uranium from the Ore mountains undetected for their Atomic Bomb.

Stalin's political power game leads to the first "dangerous dispute" between the former Allies on German territory and Berlin became the front-line-city of the Cold War. Looking back, things were not as clear as the obvious outcome, the triumph of the West over the soviet blockade. In time, the "Operation Airlift" became a myth.

The documentary recalls in detail the events that took place, the fate of the people, the fears and hopes of millions, the daring job of the pilots, and the manipulative game the Soviets played. U.S. Pilot Gail Halverson, one the "Angels of the Sky", on every mission he and his comrades risked their life. Halverson constantly filmed with his 8mm film-camera. Rare color film-footage showing mostly everything, on and off duty.

"Operation Airlift" is not a tribute to the heroes. The film tells the story of a whole city being taken hostage and the reactions to it. It remembers one of the most dramatic chapters in a time full of tensions. It is the story of the first battle in the Cold War.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2008 | OPERATION LUFTBRÜCKE

OPERATION LUFTBRÜCKE

Die erste Schlacht im Kalten Krieg

Autor & Regie:
Daniel Ast | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Rolf Bergmann

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des RBB

Der Himmel über Berlin - Tag und Nacht dröhnten die Motoren, alle drei Minuten donnerte ein "Rosinenbomber" über die Wohnhäuser in die Einflugschneisen, 462 Tage lang zwischen Juni 1948 und Oktober 1949. Die Berliner Luftbrücke war die größte Versorgungsaktion der Geschichte: Lebensmittel und Kohlen für über zwei Millionen Menschen. Mit 277.246 Flügen gelang das eigentlich Undenkbare: Eine Großstadt monatelang aus der Luft zu versorgen.

Als die Sowjets in der Nacht vom 23. auf den 24. Juni 1948 die Zufahrtswege nach Westberlin blockierten und die Stromversorgung kappten, zeigte sich die Verwundbarkeit der Stadt. Die Sowjets wollten den Rückzug der Westalliierten aus Berlin erzwingen, auch um ungestört mit dem Uran aus dem Erzgebirge ihre Atombombe zu bauen.

Stalins Machtpoker führte zur ersten großen Auseinandersetzung der ehemaligen Verbündeten auf deutschem Boden. Berlin wurde zur Frontstadt des Kalten Krieges. So klar, wie heute der Erfolg der Westmächte und das Scheitern der sowjetischen Blockade erscheinen, war es damals allerdings nicht. Die Luftbrücke ist über Jahrzehnte zu einem Mythos geworden.

Der unverstellte Blick, dicht an den Ereignissen, an den Schicksalen, den Ängsten und Hoffnungen der Berliner, dem harten Job der Piloten, den kühlen Schachzügen der Sowjets bringt die ganze Dramatik dieser Zerreißprobe um Berlin näher, als es Legenden tun. Und dem legendären US-Pilot Gail Halverson, einer der "Engel vom Himmel", hat nicht nur sein Leben riskiert, sondern alles mit seiner Schmalfilmkamera festgehalten. Einmalige Aufnahmen entstanden, in Farbe.

"Operation Luftbrücke" ist kein Heldenlied. Der Film erzählt von der Geiselnahme einer ganzen Stadt und die Reaktionen darauf. Es ist eines der spannendsten Kapitel aus einer spannungsreichen Zeit - Die erste Schlacht im Kalten Krieg.