// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2006 | SETTLING THE SCORE WITH STALIN

SETTLING THE SCORE WITH STALIN

The 20th Communist Party Conference

// awarded the "Bayerischer Fernsehpreis" 2006

Author & Director:
Daniel Ast | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Dagmar Mielke | Rolf Bergmann

Duration:
45' | 52'

Coproduction:
astfilm productions | ARTE | RBB // ARD | ARTE

Moscow, February 25th 1956. At the end of the 20th Communist Party Conference Nikita Khrushchev, the new party leader, gives a five hours lasting "secret speech". He talks about his predecessor Josef Stalin, speaks out the unspeakable and accuses the "godlike" of being a criminal, a mad man, a mass-murderer. The icon Stalin is taken apart by Khrushchev. The listeners are in a state of shock. Within a few hours a world falls apart. Khrushchev triggers an earthquake that pushes the tyrant from his pedestal.

Shortly after the New York Times publish the secret speech. With the help of a polish journalist, Israel's Secret Service gets hold of the high-explosive paper and then transfers it to the CIA. They are sure, by publishing the papers the East Bloc will collapse within the next 10 years. Meanwhile millions of Communist Party-Members all over the World are informed by Moscow. Khrushchev believes that the "destalinization" will permit a new kind of socialism. But the "thaw" seems to turn into a highly dangerous "flood".

In the satellite states of Moscow tensions are constantly rising. On June 28th 1956 one hundred thousand workers take to the streets in Poznan in Poland. At the beginning they demand only "Bread!" and shortly after "Away with the Russians!". The polish government's reaction is fierce, the revolt ends in a bloodbath. Five months later a new President is coming to power in Poland, Vladislav Gomulka. When at the end of October 1956 the people in Hungary start their revolution, Moscow reacts brutally by invading the country with tanks and destroying all hopes. It turns out the "Reformer" Khrushchev is following Stalin's doctrines of protecting the Soviet Empire.

The film reconstructs in detail the highly dramatic events that took place. How was the decision taken to settle the score with Stalin? What were Khrushchev's motives? How did the secret speech get into the general public? And what were the consequences? Witnesses from around the world, former politicians, people from the Intelligence Communities, Gulag prisoners, ... they all remember and talk about the time of broken hopes. The dramatic events of the year 1956, that changed their life and the life of millions.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2006 | ABRECHNUNG MIT STALIN

ABRECHNUNG MIT STALIN

Der XX. Parteitag und seine Folgen

// ausgezeichnet mit dem Bayerischen Fernsehpreis 2006

Autor & Regie:
Daniel Ast | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Dagmar Mielke | Rolf Bergmann

Länge:
45' | 52'

Koproduktion:
astfilm productions | ARTE | RBB // ARD | ARTE

Moskau. 25. Februar 1956. Am Ende des XX. Parteitags der sowjetischen Kommunisten hält der neue Kremlchef Nikita Chruschtschow eine fünfstündige "Geheimrede". Er redet über seinen Vorgänger, über Josef Stalin, stellt den Gottgleichen an den Pranger. Spricht das bis dahin Unaussprechliche aus: Stalin - ein Verbrecher, ein Wahnsinniger, ein Massenmörder. Die Demontage einer Ikone. Die Zuhörer sind geschockt. In nur wenigen Stunden bricht eine Welt zusammen, stürzt Chruschtschow den Tyrann vom Sockel. Erdbebengleich.

Kurz darauf veröffentlicht die New York Times die "Schockrede". Ein polnischer Journalist spielt das brisante Papier dem israelischen Geheimdienst zu, der leitet es weiter an die CIA. Durch die Veröffentlichung, so meint man, wird der Ostblock in 10 Jahren zusammenbrechen. Inzwischen wurde die Rede auch Millionen Parteimitgliedern verlesen. Chruschtschow hofft mit der "Entstalinisierung" einen neuen Sozialismus aufbauen zu können. Doch aus dem "Tauwetter" wird langsam ein für ihn gefährliches Hochwasser.

In Moskaus Satellitenstaaten beginnt es zu brodeln. Am 28. Juni 1956 gehen 100.000 Arbeiter in Poznań auf die Straßen. Anfangs  fordern sie nur "Brot", dann "Weg mit den Russen". Die Regierung lässt die Revolte blutig niederschlagen. Fünf  Monate später kommt in Polen ein neuer Mann an die Macht, Wladislaw Gomulka. Als Ende Oktober in Ungarn ein Volksaufstand ausbricht greift Moskau brutal ein. Aus dem Reformer Chruschtschow wird wieder der gelehrige Zögling Stalins.

Der Film rekonstruiert die dramatischen Ereignisse. Wie kam es zur Abrechnung mit dem Diktator? Welche Motive trieben Chruschtschow dazu? Wie kam die streng geheime Rede in die Öffentlichkeit? Welche Folgen hatte das? Zeitzeugen aus aller Welt: ehemalige Politiker, Geheimdienstler, GULAG Häftlinge, … Sie erinnern sich noch einmal an das Schicksalsjahr 1956, das ihr Leben und das von Millionen Menschen veränderte.