// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2006 | HONECKER'S CONSTRUCTION PROJECT OF THE CENTURY

HONECKER'S CONSTRUCTION PROJECT OF THE CENTURY

The GDR Gas Pipeline

Author & Director:
Hans-Joachim Obuchoff | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Jens Stubenrauch

Duration:
45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for RBB

"The construction of the century!", "A step into the next century!" - the GDR Propaganda was full of overwhelming exaggerations for Erich Honecker's prestige object that was to be the proof of the capability of the GDR's economic strength. The construction of the longest gas-pipeline on earth. Everything was to be unique and gigantic. The workers were called the "revolutionaries in blue shirts". The construction itself "a barricade in the fight for our system", the proof of brotherhood and everlasting friendship with the Soviet Union, the unstoppable victory of Socialism.

In 1974 the "Drushba-Line" (the "Line of Friendship") was officially announced in the GDR. The concept was developed by the Soviet Union and those who were to profit from the pipeline, they also helped to build it. 5000 Kilometers of 1,42 meters thick pipes, reaching from the Ice Ocean to the western border of the Ukraine. The challenge was enormous. Dangerous work underground, mountains and rivers had to be crossed, the workers had to "function" in the unbearable heat and in the cold. Roads, housing areas, depots, special buildings and Pipeline-Stations were build. Most of the gas was to be sold to the West - for foreign currency only. The Federal Republic of Germany was to be one of the customers. For the socialistic "Brothers", in particular the GDR, the billions of costs, were regarded as an investment into the future - but it proofed to be a bottomless pit. Only in 1993 Honecker's prestigious project was stopped, three years after the break-down of the German Democratic Republic.

For most of the 25.000 GDR-workers the time in the "Wild East" was an adventure, "away from the narrow GDR" and also just "earning money". On the one hand a feeling of freedom and on the other hand the order to keep silence about the accidents that happened and the impressions of working in an antediluvian country - impressions that didn't fit into the postulated "socialistic advance".

In every respect the GDR gas pipeline was matchless, as an experience of life, as a construction and as a political issue. The documentary tells the real story of this sometimes heroic glorified time.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2006 | HONECKERS JAHRHUNDERTBAU

HONECKERS JAHRHUNDERTBAU

Die DDR-Erdgasstrasse

Autor & Regie:
Hans-Joachim Obuchoff | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Jens Stubenrauch

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des RBB

"Das Jahrhundertbauwerk!", "Ein Schritt ins nächste Jahrtausend!", ... Stets war die DDR-Propaganda voller Superlative, wenn von Erich Honeckers einzigartigem Prestigeobjekt, dem Aushängeschild für die DDR-Wirtschaftskraft die Rede war: dem Mit-Bau an der längsten Gasleitung der Welt. Alles war gigantisch, einmalig. Die Trassenbauer waren "Revolutionäre im Blauhemd". Der Bau selbst eine "Barrikade im Klassenkampf", ein Beweis für die ewige Freundschaft zur Sowjetunion und den unaufhaltsamen Siegeszug des Sozialismus.

1974 wurde das Unternehmen "Druschba-Trasse" (Trasse der Freundschaft) in der DDR offiziell verkündet. Als beispielloses Großunternehmen von der Sowjetunion konzipiert, miterrichtet von den Kunden. Fast 5.000 Kilometer mussten die 1,42 Meter dicken Rohrleitungen vom Eismeer bis an die Westgrenze der Ukraine in die Erde, über Berge und Flüsse, gelegt werden. Bei Hitze und Frost. Straßen wurden gebaut, Wohnhäuser,  Verdichterstationen ...  Der bei weitem größte Anteil an Gas sollte für harte Devisen in den Westen fließen, auch in die Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Für die sozialistischen "Bruderländer", besonders die DDR, war die Trasse eher eine Milliardenschwere Investition in die Zukunft, aber es wurde ein Fass ohne Boden. Erst 1993 wurde Honeckers Prestigeprojekt beendet, drei Jahre nach dem Zusammenbruch der DDR.

Für die meisten der 25.000 DDR-Trassenbauer waren die Jahre im "Wilden Osten" ein Erlebnis. Es war Abenteuer und "Raus aus der engen DDR" und auch "einfach mal gutes Geld verdienen". Ein Gefühl von Freiheit, doch über vieles musste auch geschwiegen werden: über die Unfälle, auch die Eindrücke in einem rückständigen Land zu arbeiten, passten nicht ins Bild.

In jeder Beziehung war die Trasse beispiellos, als Lebenserfahrung, als Bauwerk und als Politikum. Der Film versucht, ein realistisches Bild zu zeichnen, von dieser zuweilen heroisch verklärten Zeit.