// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2005 | THE PYRAMIDS OF TREPTOW PARK

THE PYRAMIDS OF TREPTOW PARK

The Lost "World Exhibition"

rbb-series: "Mysterious Places"

Author & Director:
Daniel Ast | Juergen Ast | Nicole Standtke

Commissioning Editor:
Jens Stubenrauch

Duration:
45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for RBB

Treptow Park in the southeast of Berlin. No traces can be found of the so called "Berlin Trade Exhibition". A gigantic kaleidoscope of industry, technology, culture, science and entertainment, a gigantic show, a "once-in-a-hundred-years event". Over seven million people visited the public park in the summer of 1896. Hundreds of new buildings and in the center a spectacular exhibition hall. All could have been gazed at: African villages, a staged sea-battle and even the Egyptian pyramids. All that is left today, is the giant telescope of the Archenhold observatory, the only trace of the lost and mysterious world in the Treptow Park.

At the site where more than a hundred years ago gondolas took visitors for a ride over the artificial lake, since 1949 stands the Soviet Memorial of Honor for the soldiers of the Red Army, build from the rubbles of Hitler's Reich Chancellery. The bronze statue of the Soviet soldier with the German child in his arms - the world-wide known symbol of liberation - only a myth, covering up mysterious stories.

The film is the search of a lost place, which many people suppose to know. Today a park with beautiful meadows and old trees, that don't disclose the lost secrets anymore. It's like a puzzle, only piece by piece, little by little the secrets are revealed and the true story of the Treptow Park is told. An astonishing and fascinating search for clues.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2005 | DIE PYRAMIDEN VOM TREPTOWER PARK

DIE PYRAMIDEN VOM TREPTOWER PARK

Die versunkene "Weltausstellung"

rbb-Reihe: "Geheimnisvolle Orte"

Autor & Regie:
Daniel Ast | Jürgen Ast | Nicole Standtke

Redaktion:
Jens Stubenrauch

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des RBB

Der Treptower Park, im Südosten Berlins. So gut wie nichts erinnert hier noch an die so genannte "Berliner Gewerbeausstellung". Jene gigantische Schau, die ein einmaliges Kaleidoskop von Industrie, Technik, Kultur, Wissenschaft und Zeitvertreib darstellte. Ein Jahrhundertereignis, das im Sommer 1896 über 7 Millionen Menschen in den Volkspark an der Spree lockte. Hunderte aus dem Boden gestampfte Gebäude, das Prunkstück, die riesige Ausstellungshalle. Auch afrikanische Dörfer konnten bestaunt werden, inszenierte Seeschlachten und schon von weitem sah man die ägyptischen Pyramiden. Doch einzig das Riesenfernrohr der Archenhold Sternwarte ist davon geblieben, lässt etwas ahnen von der versunkenen geheimnisvollen Wunderwelt im Treptower Park.

Dort wo vor mehr als hundert Jahren italienische Gondeln über einen künstlichen See fuhren, steht seit 1949 das sowjetische Ehrenmal, errichtet aus den Trümmern der Reichskanzlei. Der bronzene Sowjetheld mit dem deutschen Kind im Arm - das weltbekannte Symbol der Befreiung - ein Mythos, der mysteriöser Geschichten verbirgt.

Der Film macht sich auf die Suche nach einem Ort, den viele zu kennen glauben. Ein Park mit Liegewiesen und alten Bäumen, die nichts mehr preisgeben von all den Geheimnissen. Wie in einem Puzzle will der Film die einzigartige Geschichte des Treptower Parks neu zusammensetzen. Spurensuche zwischen Staunen und Faszination.