// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2005 | STALIN'S GERMAN ELITE

STALIN'S GERMAN ELITE

German Specialists on Assignment for the Soviet Union

Author & Director:
Martin Huebner

Commissioning Editor:
Dr. Katja Wildermuth

Duration:
52'

Production:
astfilm productions | for MDR | ARTE // ARTE

All over the Soviet occupation zone, where in demand German specialists can be found, armed special units of the Soviets are on their way. Houses are surrounded, a translator gives out the orders issued by the military officer on duty: "By order of the Soviet military administration you now have to work for five years in the Soviet Union! You can take along your wife and children and all the things you need ...". It was a shock for all those that have to follow the order. On October 22th at five o'clock in the morning Helmut Banas, a former technician and specialist for "Junkers" engines, is confronted with the order issued by Stalin. A large number of freight trains are loaded with the "Wonders of the German Engineering" and the people needed to do the job. Under full steam the trains are bound for the East.

The secret operation was planned and executed with perfection. No one was to escape the Soviet "headhunters". Ten days later the displaced Germans arrive somewhere in the middle of the Soviet Union. Helmut Banas from Dessau and about eight hundred colleagues arrive in Kuibitchev near the Volga. The V2 rocket experts are taken to the secluded island of Gorodomlia. Nobody has any clue of what the Soviets intend to do with them. The captured German "masterminds", of which most not too long ago were fanatically working for "Fuehrer, folk and fatherland", soon they now proof to be very cooperative. They all know, Germany is destroyed and finding work is absolutely impossible.

In this context Hitler's "conquerors of the sky" have no problem to adapt working for the Soviets. After the war is lost, there is no need for novel jet planes and rockets in the rubbles of Germany. The Soviets grant many privileges to the specialists, for example the salary is double the amount of what Soviet experts are paid. For the German specialists it turns out to be a life in a "gilded cage".

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2005 | STALINS DEUTSCHE ELITE

STALINS DEUTSCHE ELITE

Deutsche Spezialisten im Dienste der Sowjetunion

Autor & Regie:
Martin Hübner

Redaktion:
Dr. Katja Wildermuth

Länge:
52'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag von MDR | ARTE // ARTE

Überall in der Sowjetischen Besatzungszone, wo begehrte deutsche Spezialisten zu finden sind, sind bewaffnete Spezialkommandos der Sowjets unterwegs. Häuser werden umstellt, ein Dolmetscher übersetzt die kurze Ansprache des diensthabenden Offiziers: "Auf Befehl der sowjetischen Militäradministration müssen Sie fünf Jahre in der Sowjetunion arbeiten. Sie können Ihre Frau und Kinder mitnehmen und so viele Sachen wie Sie wollen ...". Ein Schock für die Betroffenen. Auch Helmut Banas, ein Junkers-Triebwerkspezialist wird am 22. Oktober um 5.00 Uhr früh mit dem Stalin-Befehl konfrontiert. Gleich mehrere Güterzüge, voll gestopft mit "Wunderwerken deutscher Ingenieurskunst" und den dazugehörigen Ingenieuren, dampfen ab in Richtung Osten.

Die geheime Nacht- und Nebelaktion wurde generalstabsmäßig geplant und durchgeführt. Keiner sollte den sowjetischen Headhuntern entkommen oder gar noch gen Westen fliehen können. Zehn Tage später finden sich die überrumpelten Deutschen irgendwo im Inneren der Sowjetunion wieder. Helmut Banas aus Dessau landet mit 800 Kollegen in Kuibitschew an der Wolga, die V2-Raketen-Spezialisten werden auf die einsame Insel Gorodomlja verfrachtet. Niemand erfährt Genaueres über die weiteren Pläne der Sowjets. Die erbeuteten deutschen "Superhirne", die kurz zuvor noch mehr oder weniger fanatisch für "Führer, Volk und Vaterland" gearbeitet hatten, erweisen sich schnell als kooperativ. Deutschland ist zerstört und Arbeit zu finden absolut unmöglich.

Vor diesem Hintergrund fällt es "Hitlers Himmelstürmern" nicht sonderlich schwer, sich in den Dienst der Sieger zu stellen. Der Bedarf an neuartigen Düsenjets und Raketen ist nach dem verlorenen Krieg in den deutschen Trümmerlandschaften gleich Null. Die Sowjets statten ihre fremdländischen Spezialisten mit allerlei Privilegien aus. Beispielsweise bekommen sie doppelt so viel Geld wie die sowjetischen Spezialisten. Es beginnt ein Leben im "goldenen Käfig".