// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2005 | HEROES IN SPACE

HEROES IN SPACE

The Stony Way to the Stars

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Dr. Katja Wildermuth

Duration:
52'

Production:
astfilm productions | for MDR | ARTE // ARTE

April 4th 1959. Full of confidence the USA presents its future Astronauts, the "Glorious Seven", to the world. They were chosen from 500 fighter pilots to defeat the Soviets in space and make the "Sputnik shock" nothing but a distant memory. One of those "supermen" is going to be the first man to fly into space. The new heroes of the western world stand for masculine strength, intelligence, and total determination. They inspire the fantasy and dreams of millions ...

The stories and pictures of the "Glorious Seven" are published on every magazine cover and in all newspaper. But the daily training of an astronaut is tough, often they are pushed to the limit of human ability. Experiments with rocket propelled slides and psychological tests, everything has to be checked. Answers and solutions for a thousand questions, never asked before, have to be found. How does the human body react to weightlessness? What kind of psychological problems can occur? Some are afraid, that the Astronauts might swallow their tongue, or lose control of their mind ...

While the Americans are already training for a save landing, the Soviets only start in 1960 with the selection of cosmonauts - the "Team No. 1". The Americans are convinced of experienced test pilots, the Soviets believe in technology. The future cosmonauts - regardless of their prior experience - only need to be courageous enough to accept the risks involved. Their assignment was simple: survive the flight into the unknown ...

The documentary tells the story of those two legendary groups of pioneers in space: the "Glorious Seven" of the USA and the "Team No. 1" of the Soviet Union. What was it, that drove those exceptional men? What made them accept the risk of losing their life on a mission into space? Was it adventure or fulfillment of duties? Patriotism, prestige, fame, money? Scott Carpenter, Alexei Leonov, Pavel Popovitch, ... - the heroes in space, they all remember the time when they faced dramatic situations and experienced magic moments of joy on the stony way to the stars.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2005 | HELDEN IM ALL

HELDEN IM ALL

Der steinige Weg zu den Sternen

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Dr. Katja Wildermuth

Länge:
52'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag von MDR | ARTE // ARTE

Am 4. April 1959 präsentieren die USA der ganzen Welt siegessicher ihre Raumfahrer in spe: Die "glorreichen Sieben". Unter 500 Jagdfliegern wurden sie auserwählt, die Sowjets im Kosmos zu schlagen, die Schlappe des Sputnik-Schocks vergessen zu machen. Einer der „Supermänner“ soll als erster Mensch ins All fliegen. Die neuen Helden der westlichen Welt, Verkörperungen männlicher Kraft, Intelligenz, Entschlossenheit und Kühnheit stacheln die Phantasie und Träume von Millionen an ...

Ihre Konterfeis und Geschichten füllen die Titelseiten der Magazine und Zeitungen. Doch der Trainingsalltag eines Weltraumfahrers ist hart, oft an den Grenzen der menschlichen Leistungsfähigkeit. Psychotests und Experimente auf rasenden Raketenschlitten. Alles muss ausprobiert werden. Es gibt Tausende Fragen, die niemand bisher beantworten kann. Wie wird der Mensch mit dem Zustand der Schwerelosigkeit fertig? Mit welchen psychischen Problemen muss gerechnet werden? Man fürchtet sogar, die Raumfahrer könnten ihre Zunge verschlucken oder den Verstand verlieren ...

Während die Amerikaner schon die glückliche Landung üben, beginnen die Sowjets erst 1960, eine Gruppe von Raumfahrern auszuwählen - das "Team Nr. 1". Die Amerikaner setzen auf erfahrene Testpiloten, die Sowjets ganz auf ihre Technik, suchen mutige "Grünschnäbel", die eigentlich nur eine einzige Aufgabe haben: den Flug ins Unbekannte zu überleben ...

Der Film erzählt die spannende Geschichte der beiden legendären ersten Weltraumflieger-Gruppen in Ost und West: "Die glorreichen Sieben" der USA und das "Team Nr. 1" der Sowjetunion. Was trieb sie an, diese außergewöhnlichen Männer, dieses lebensgefährliche Wagnis einzugehen? Abenteuerlust, Pflichterfüllung, Patriotismus, Geltungsdrang, Geld? Scott Carpenter, Alexej Leonow, Pawel Popowitsch, ... - die Helden im All erzählen von dramatischen und den glücklichen Augenblicken auf dem steinigen Weg zu den Sternen.