// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2005 | THE EINSTEIN FILE

THE EINSTEIN FILE

The Professor and the FBI

Author & Director:
Konrad Ege | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Dagmar Mielke | Rolf Bergmann

Duration:
45'

Coproduction:
astfilm productions | ARTE | RBB // ARTE

Till today more than 1.800 pages of the former top-secret FBI-file about Albert Einstein were released to the public. Reports and records of an unbelievable surveillance. The explosive papers also tells the story of the "forgotten" side of Einstein, his interest in global politics and his role as a supporter in the struggle for human rights.

The film takes a in-depth look at the top-secret surveillance of Albert Einstein that J. Edgar Hoover staged. The house of the discoverer of the theory of relativity was under constant surveillance and the professor himself was for more than 20 years the target of an investigation, that tried to uncover the lateral thinker as a "potential communist", a "spy from Moscow". Einstein was living in the USA since 1933. At that time Einstein was the most famous scientist of the 20th century, an icon already in life. For Hoover it was exactly that popularity that made Einstein so dangerous and seditious. It was known that Einstein was committed to "subversive" organizations like the "League against War and Fascism", the crusade against the injustice of lynching and the "Anti-Nuclear-Weapons Movement".

Was Einstein really a spy, a communist, a traitor? Former FBI employees, historians, Einstein experts and also people that encountered Einstein, civil-rights activists and friends, they all describe the "political" Einstein and light up the rather unknown side of one of the most famous humans.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2005 | DIE AKTE EINSTEIN

DIE AKTE EINSTEIN

Der Professor und das FBI

Autor & Regie:
Konrad Ege | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Dagmar Mielke | Rolf Bergmann

Länge:
45'

Koproduktion:
astfilm productions | ARTE | RBB // ARTE

Mehr als 1.800 Seiten des ehemals geheimen FBI-Dossiers über Albert Einstein sind bis heute veröffentlicht worden. Berichte, Meldungen, Protokolle - Unglaubliches. Die brisanten Papiere geben Auskunft über den "vergessenen" Einstein. Diese Geschichte erzählt der Film, die des "vergessenen", des politischen Albert Einstein und die seiner Akte.

Mit Informanten, mit Überwachung seines Hauses, mit Verdächtigungen hat FBI-Direktor J. Edgar Hoover über zwanzig Jahre versucht den Querdenker als "potentieller Kommunisten", als "Spion Moskaus" zu entlarven. Das FBI führte die Ermittlungen gegen den eigenwillig frisierten Entdecker der Relativitätstheorie, der seit 1933 in den USA lebte, streng geheim. War Einstein doch der berühmteste Gelehrte des XX. Jahrhunderts, eine Ikone schon zu Lebzeiten. Diese Popularität machte Einstein in den Augen J. Edgar Hoovers besonders gefährlich, besonders subversiv. Immerhin engagierte sich Einstein in den USA gleich in mehreren "umstürzlerischen Organisationen", war aktiv in der "Liga gegen Krieg und Faschismus, im Kreuzzug gegen die Lynchjustiz“ und später besonders in der Anti-Atomwaffen Bewegung.

War Einstein wirklich ein Spion, ein Kommunist, ein Landesverräter? Ehemalige FBI-Mitarbeiter, Historiker, Einstein-Experten, aber auch Menschen die Einstein noch erlebt haben, Bürgerrechtler, Bekannte berichten über den "politischen" Einstein. Sie geben Sichten und Ansichten über die eher unbekannte Seite eines der berühmtesten Menschen.