// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2005 | 1945 - BATTLEFIELD GERMANY

1945 - BATTLEFIELD GERMANY

Part 1 | The Russians Are Coming

Part 2 | Pushing Towards the Elbe

Part 3 | The End

Author & Director:
Christian Klemke | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Rolf Bergmann | Jens Stubenrauch

Duration:
3 x 45'

Production:
RBB // ARD

End of December 1944, the Wehrmacht's last offensive on the western front, in the Ardennes, has failed. January 12th 1945, the Russian started a major offensive from their bridgeheads close to the Weichsel. The three-part series "1945 - Battlefield Germany" documents the last eighteen weeks of the War. It shows the end of the War especially from the very personal, the individual point of view of the then participants.

Part 1: "The Russians are coming!" That cry causes panic and scare amongst the German civilian population. A dark fear of vengeance mingles with already stoked fears by the Nazi propaganda. From East-Prussia to Pomerania, from Silesia to Berlin. "The Russians are coming!" That cry also is a spark of hope to a 13years old prisoner in Auschwitz. The fear of the Russians shall give more motivation to the German soldiers, every evacuation of civilians is prevented by the Nazi leaders till the very end. And the war in the east of Germany is going to be a lasting one. Although the first Soviet troops reach the Oder after only two weeks, the fighting and killing still goes on in February and March. In East-Prussia the young Margarete Wentkowski is fleeing from the Red Army for weeks. In Breslau the young German soldier Rudolf Wolter is defending a "Propaganda Fortress" for months. Harry Czepuck is on guard at the Oder frontline. The young Red Army artillery officer Alexander Mertinenko from Kiev, he is part of the troops rushing forward. A long lasting, bloody advance across the east of the German Reich.

Part 2: For the GI's, the road from the Normandy to the Rhine is a long and deadly one. Early March 1945, Tony Vaccaro from New York, finally reaches the river. A milestone on his way to Berlin. That is where he wants to go, before the Russians reach the city. Hitler is outraged by the fact that one the bridges across the Rhine, the bridge of Remagen, the passage into the heart of Germany, was not destroyed. The GI's march forward and encounter German troops, soldiers that no longer want to fight, and fanatic SS troopers. Combatant Georg Schulz believes strongly in the "final victory" and thwarts the Americans. He is lucky and survives. Orna Birnbach, a young girl from Poland, she struggles with death in the concentration camp of Bergen-Belsen. The crossing of the Rhine in March 1945, the advance to Bavaria, to Berlin, to the Elbe - the roads are paved with various human fates on "Battlefield Germany".

Part 3: On April 15th 1945, the Jewish girl Orna Birnbach is liberated from Bergen-Belsen. The following day, the bloody battle on the Seelower Heights next to Berlin begin. In less than one month, the war will be over. Alexander Mertinenko, the young Artillerie-Officer, he and his comrades are storming towards the capital of the German Reich, chasing the German soldiers. One of them is Harry Czepuck, who gets into battle of Halbe, the last big bloodbath in the east of Germany. From the west, after crossing the Elbe, GI Tony Vaccaro is moving towards the Russian troops. In the north, the 17years old Eberhard Lehmann defies the British Army, even as a prisoner of war. Those were the orders he received by his German superiors. In the south, the German soldier Georg Schulz encounters liberated prisoners of a concentration camp and he no longer understands the world.

Everyone of the participants experienced the end of the Third Reich in May 1945 in their own way. Those horrible, frightening, hopeful, desperate, longed for moments, that burned themselves into the memories and that till today are kept alive.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2005 | 1945 - SCHLACHTFELD DEUTSCHLAND

1945 - SCHLACHTFELD DEUTSCHLAND

Teil 1 | Die Russen kommen

Teil 2 | Vorstoß zur Elbe

Teil 3 | Das Ende

Autor & Regie:
Christian Klemke | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Rolf Bergmann | Jens Stubenrauch

Länge:
3 x 45'

Produktion:
RBB // ARD

Ende Dezember 1944 brach die Ardennenoffensive der Wehrmacht im Westen endgültig zusammen, am 12. Januar 1945 eröffnete die Rote Armee von ihren Brückenköpfen an der Weichsel einen Großangriff. Der Dreiteiler "1945 - Schlachtfeld Deutschland" dokumentiert die letzten 18 Wochen des Krieges. Er zeigt das Kriegsende vor allem aus der persönlichen, der individuellen Sicht der damals Beteiligten.

Teil 1: "Die Russen kommen!" Dieser Ruf verursacht Panik und Schrecken unter der deutschen Zivilbevölkerung. Eine dunkle Furcht vor der Rache mischt sich mit propagandageschürter Angst. Von Ostpreußen bis Pommern, von Schlesien bis Berlin. Die Russen kommen, dieser Ruf gibt einem 13-jährigen Häftling in Auschwitz auch einen Hauch von Hoffnung. Die Angst vor den Russen soll die deutschen Soldaten zum Durchhalten motivieren, jede Evakuierung wird von der Nazi-Führung bis zuletzt verhindert. Und der Krieg tobt lange im Osten Deutschlands. Obwohl die Spitzen der Roten Armee nach knapp zwei Wochen bereits an der Oder stehen, wird im Februar und März noch gekämpft und gestorben. In Ostpreußen flüchtet die junge Margarete Wentkowski wochenlang vor der Roten Armee, in Breslau verteidigt der junge deutsche Soldat Rudolf Wolter über Monate eine "Propaganda-Festung". Harry Czepuck bewacht die Oder, ein junger Artillerieoffizier der Roten Armee, Alexander Mertinenko aus Kiew, nimmt an einem sehr langen und verlustreichen Vormarsch kreuz und quer durch den Osten des Deutschen Reiches teil.

Teil 2: Von der Normandie bis zum Rhein ist es ein langer Weg für die amerikanischen GIs. Anfang März 1945 erreicht der New Yorker Tony Vaccaro den Strom. Ein Meilenstein auf seinem Weg nach Berlin. Dort will er hin, noch vor den Russen. Hitler tobt vor Wut, als er erfährt, dass eine der Rhein-Brücken, die Brücke von Remagen, nicht gesprengt wurde. Sie öffnet den Weg in das Zentrum Deutschlands. Die GIs marschieren vorwärts und treffen auf Deutsche. Auf Soldaten, die nicht mehr kämpfen wollen und auf fanatisierte SS. Georg Schulz, der Front erfahrene Obergefreite glaubt an den Endsieg und stellt sich den Amerikanern in den Weg. Er  hat Glück und überlebt. Orna Birnbach, ein junges Mädchen aus Polen ringt im KZ Bergen-Belsen mit dem Tod. Die Überquerung des Rheins im März 1945, der Vormarsch nach Bayern und der Vorstoß in Richtung Berlin, in Richtung Elbe - Schicksalswege von Menschen auf dem Schlachtfeld Deutschland.

Teil 3: Am 15. April 1945 erlebt das jüdische Mädchen Orna Birnbach ihre Befreiung aus dem KZ Bergen-Belsen, einen Tag später beginnt die blutige Schlacht um die Seelower Höhen vor Berlin. Noch ein knapper Monat, und der Krieg wird beendet sein. Alexander Martinenko, der russische Artillerieoffizier, stürmt mit seiner Kompanie der Reichshauptstadt entgegen. Sie jagen deutsche Soldaten vor sich her. Einer von ihnen ist Harry Czepuck, der in den Kessel von Halbe gerät, in das letzte große Blutbad im Osten Deutschlands. Vom Westen, über die Elbe, kommt der GI Tony Vaccaro den anrückenden russischen Truppen entgegen. Im Norden muss der 17-jährige Eberhard Lehmann selbst noch im Kriegsgefangenenlager den Engländern die Stirn bieten. So verlangen es seine deutschen Vorgesetzten. Im Süden trifft der Frontsoldat Georg Schulz auf befreite KZ-Häftlinge und versteht die Welt nicht mehr.

Jeder der Beteiligten hat das Ende des Nazi-Reichs im Mai 1945 auf seine Weise erlebt. Jene schrecklichen, ängstigenden, hoffnungsvollen, verzweifelten, ersehnten Momente, die sich ins Gedächtnis brannten und bis heute lebendig blieben.