// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2005 | SURVIVING AUSCHWITZ

SURVIVING AUSCHWITZ

Four Stories from Birkenau

Author & Director:
Rolf Bergmann | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Jens Stubenrauch

Duration:
45' | 60'

Production:
RBB

Auschwitz has become a symbol for the murder of millions. Killing people not only with industrialist means, but on a industrialist scale - in the death factories of the Nazis. Auschwitz was such a death factory, an extermination camp. What happened here is intangible and not to realize. Eli Wiesel, the later Nobel Peace Prize winner, survived the Death-Camp in Auschwitz and said relating to this problem: "How can you tell a story, that can't be told, but must be told?" Even decades later approximating the story it is very difficult to find the proper words to answer this question, the helplessness remains.

The documentary-film is based on the stories of four survivors: A Hungarian Jewish woman from Budapest. A man from Warsaw, who took part in the Warsaw riot and then was transported to the concentration camp in Auschwitz. A Jewish man from Prague and one from the so called "Sudetenland", both live today in Israel. They all remember the life and death in Auschwitz-Birkenau, the conditions, the cruelty of the guards, the inhumane life they were forced to live, the will to survive and the fear of death, the cold, the hunger and the own brutalization - the "everyday life" in Auschwitz. The stories are added with reflections about the life in this concentration and extermination camp; reflections of people, that tried to "handle" their face to face encounter with one of the darkest sides of mankind in modern history by writing skills - from Paul Celan to Tadeusz Borovski.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2005 | ÜBER LEBEN IN AUSCHWITZ

ÜBER LEBEN IN AUSCHWITZ

Vier Berichte aus Birkenau

Autor & Regie:
Rolf Bergmann | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Jens Stubenrauch

Länge:
45' | 60'

Produktion:
RBB

Auschwitz ist zu einer Chiffre geworden für millionenfachen Mord. Menschenmord nicht nur im "industriellen" Maßstab, sondern auch mit industriellen Mitteln - in Todesfabriken der Nationalsozialisten. Auschwitz war solch eine Todesfabrik, ein Vernichtungslager. Was hier geschah, ist nicht greifbar und nicht begreifbar. Elie Wiesel, Auschwitz-Überlebender und späterer Friedensnobelpreisträger, hat ein Problem, das hieraus folgt, so formuliert: "Wie kann man eine Geschichte erzählen, die man nicht erzählen kann, die man aber erzählen  muss?" Die Ratlosigkeit bleibt auch nach Jahrzehnten bei denen, die sich dem Thema annähern.

Der Film basiert auf Berichten von vier Überlebenden: Einer ungarischen Jüdin aus Budapest, einem Mann aus Warschau, der am Warschauer Aufstand beteiligt war und danach ins Konzentrationslager Auschwitz kam. Zu Wort kommen ein jüdischer Mann aus Prag und ein weiterer, der aus dem Sudetenland stammt. Beide leben heute in Israel. Alle vier Zeitzeugen erzählen vom Leben und Sterben in Auschwitz-Birkenau, über die Zustände dort, von der Entmenschlichung Durch die KZ-Wärter, von Lebenswillen und Todesangst, von Kälte, Hunger und eigener Verrohung - vom Auschwitz-Alltag. Die Erzählungen werden ergänzt durch Reflexionen über das Leben in diesem Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslager; Reflexionen von Menschen, die ihre Lagererfahrung schriftstellerisch "verarbeitet" haben - von Paul Celan bis Tadeusz Borowski.