// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2004 | WHOEVER COMES LATE ...

WHOEVER COMES LATE ...

Honecker's Last Anniversary of the GDR

Author & Director:
Kerstin Mauersberger | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Jens Stubenrauch

Duration:
45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for RBB

The decisive moment in the autumn of 1989, the final turning-point in the history of the German Democratic Republic: Was it the 9th of October in Leipzig, the 4th of November with its huge demonstration in Berlin, or the 9th of November, the day the borders opened, ... ?

Sometimes the 7th of October is underestimated, but just that day was essential. Not only because on that day the crisis in the GDR had come to a head, already before the 7th of October seemed to turn out as a "day of fate". For the crumbling regime in East-Berlin all necessary preparations had top-priority. It was the day of the 40th anniversary of the GDR.

Everyone of distinction of the communist world was expected in East-Berlin. It will be the last reunion of all communist leaders. The guest list, a "Who is who" of the East Bloc at the beginning of its breakdown. In retrospect a spooky scene - a death dance of old men failed to see that their leadership is already lost, that the last countdown of their political power had already started.

The documentary reconstructs the 7th of October as a day of the last struggle for survival of a ruined regime. It tells the story of the day when masses of people "took over" the streets in Leipzig and Dresden, when countless demonstrators came together in front of the "Palace of the Republic" in East-Berlin. A picture of great symbolic power. An exemplary snap-shot of the approaching downfall. The dramatic events at the "Palace of the Republic" in East-Berlin, they are in the focus of the story. Diplomats and guests, victims of the police brutality, politicians, journalists, armed services, members of the Intelligence Services, they all recall the decisive moments, the hopes and fears of this strange and memorable day.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2004 | WER ZU SPÄT KOMMT ...

WER ZU SPÄT KOMMT ...

Honeckers letzter Republikgeburtstag

Autor & Regie:
Kerstin Mauersberger | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Jens Stubenrauch

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des RBB

Man kann lange darüber streiten, welcher Tag des Herbstes 1989 der alles entscheidende Wendepunkt der DDR-Geschichte gewesen sei. Der legendäre 9. Oktober in Leipzig, der 4. November mit der gewaltigen Demo in Berlin, der 9. November, der Tag der Grenzöffnung, ... ?

Der 7. Oktober wird zuweilen unterschätzt. Dabei war gerade dieser Tag entscheidend. Nicht nur, weil es an diesem Tag selbst durch die Ereignisse in Berlin zu einer außerordentlichen komplizierten Zuspitzung der Krise im Lande gekommen war. Bereits im Vorfeld offenbarte sich gerade dieser Tag als eine Art "Schicksalstag". Der 7. Oktober als Zielpunkt, als Zielmarke, dem aus der Sicht der wankenden SED-Führung absolut alles untergeordnet werden musste, den es war der 40. Jahrestag der Gründung der DDR.

Alles was Rang und Namen hatte in der Welt des Sozialismus, sollte nach Berlin kommen. Ein wird das letzte Stelldichein der mächtigsten Männer der kommunistischen Welt. Die Gästeliste - ein "Who is Who" des Ostblocks am Beginn seines Untergangs. Im Rückblick eine gespenstische Szene - ein Totentanz alter Männer, die noch nicht einsehen wollen, dass sie ihre Macht verspielt haben. Die Stunden ihrer politischen Macht sind gezählt.

Der Film rekonstruiert den 7.Oktober 1989 als die letzte große Anstrengung einer abgewirtschafteten Polit-Riege. In Leipzig und Dresden begann sich "das Volk" die Straße zu erobern, in Berlin war es nun vor den "Toren des Palastes der Republik" erschienen. Ein Bild von großer symbolischer Kraft. Eine exemplarische Momentaufnahme des nahenden  Untergangs. Im Mittelpunkt des Films stehen dabei die Geschehnisse im und um den Palast der Republik. Interviews mit Diplomaten und Gästen der Palast-Veranstaltung, mit den Opfern des brutalen Polizei-Einsatzes, mit Politikern, Journalisten, Militärs, Geheimdienstlern rekonstruieren die Stimmung, Erwartungen, Hoffungen und Befürchtungen an diesem eigenartigen und denkwürdigen Tag.