// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2004 | BOUGHT FREEDOM

BOUGHT FREEDOM

Secret Deals in Divided Germany

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Rolf Bergmann | Jens Stubenrauch

Duration:
2 x 45'

Production:
RBB // ARD

It was one of the most secret deals between the Federal Republic of Germany and the German Democratic Republic, later sparked a very controversial discussion. From 1963 till 1989 more than 33.000 political prisoners, without any hope and often imprisoned under horrible conditions in the jails of the GDR, were sold to West-Germany. Bonn paid the price for every individual with diamonds, oil, fruits, and foreign exchange. An inner German "business arrangement", that was kept a secret for decades.

Power politics and human dignity, tough negotiations like a game of poker and blind trust, secret missions and diplomacy, handing over of money and deals in the shadow of the church, party interests and the desire for foreign exchange, all of it was part of the story - and even more. The dramaturgy, certainly an excellent cinema script for a political thriller, but for more than twenty years it was reality in divided Germany.

The first part of the documentary tells the beginnings of the sale of the political prisoners in 1963, how the publisher Axel Springer played an important role in those early days of the secret business. The first transaction took place at the subway station Friedrichstrasse in Berlin. Cash was handed out for eight prisoners from the East. The following year a hundred times more were crossing the border, this time by bus, at Herleshausen into the West.

The second part of the documentary begins with the events of Mai 1973, the sensational meeting between the GDR state secretary Erich Honecker and the chairman of the Social Democratic Party in West-Germany Herbert Wehner. Before the GDR had stopped the "trade-business" for many months and now it was put into operation again. Did the GDR "produce" political prisoners for sale? Were criminals used and "stamped" political prisoners to be pushed off to the West? Erich Honecker always looked out for public reputation, but despite of CSCE and détente he was always in desperate need of the foreign exchange by selling political prisoners. He knew, the fragile economy of the GDR would collapse without it. Only in December 1989 the last political prisoner was freed.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2004 | DIE GEKAUFTE FREIHEIT

DIE GEKAUFTE FREIHEIT

Häftlingsfreikauf im geteilten Deutschland

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Rolf Bergmann | Jens Stubenrauch

Länge:
2 x 45'

Produktion:
RBB // ARD

Es war eines der wohl geheimnisvollsten und später umstrittensten Geschäfte zwischen der Bundesrepublik und der ehemaligen DDR. Von 1963 bis zur Wende wurden über 33.000 politische Häftlinge, die ohne Hoffnung und oft unter menschenunwürdigen Bedingungen in DDR-Gefängnissen saßen, von Bonn freigekauft. Gegen Diamanten, Erdöl, Südfrüchte und Devisen. Ein deutsch-deutscher Deal, der jahrzehntelang im Dunkeln blieb.

Machtkalkül und Menschenwürde, harter Poker und blindes Vertrauen, Geheimaktionen und Diplomatie, Geldumschläge und Deals unter dem Dach der Kirche, Parteiinteressen und Devisenhunger, das sind einige der Aspekte, die die Dramaturgie für die Geschichte liefern. Die  Mixtur geeignet für einen Politthriller aus den Spielfilmstudios, aber mehr als zwei Jahrzehnte war das alles realer Alltag im geteilten Deutschland.

Der erste Teil der Dokumentation erzählt von den Anfängen des Freikaufs politischer Häftlinge durch die Bundesrepublik 1963, bei der der Verleger Axel Springer eine wichtige Rolle spielte. Die erste Transaktion ging am S-Bahnhof Friedrichstrasse noch per Bargeld über die Bühne, acht Gefangene kamen damals frei. Ein Jahr später waren es schon über Hundert mal soviel, nun fuhren die Freigekauften mit Bussen über Herleshausen in den Westen.

Der zweite Teil beginnt mit dem sensationellen Treffen zwischen Honecker und Wehner im Mai 1973, durch das der Freikauf, der von der DDR für Monate ausgesetzt wurde,  wieder in Gang kommt. Er beleuchtet die Fragen ob politische Häftlinge von der DDR für das Geschäft produziert worden sind und ob man versucht hat auch Kriminelle mit unterzuschieben. Trotz KSZE und Entspannung, Honecker, der so sehr auf öffentliche Reputation achtete, konnte bis zu seinem Sturz nicht auf die Devisen, die die DDR  für die Freiheit ihrer politischen Häftlinge erhielt, verzichten. Erst im Dezember 1989 kommt der letzte politische Gefangene frei.