// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2003 | GERMANY AT THE EDGE OF A NUCLEAR WAR

GERMANY AT THE EDGE OF A NUCLEAR WAR

The Year of 1961

Author & Director:
Kerstin Mauersberger | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Anette Kanzler

Duration:
45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for MDR

On January 20th 1961, John F. Kennedy made his inaugural speech as the new President of the United States. He spoke of his decidedness to defend the West from any aggression coming from the East. If necessary, with all available means - the ultimate ratio, the use of nuclear weapons. His opponent at the Kremlin, Nikita Khrushchev, only two weeks earlier he also had declared, that he would, if necessary, use all available means to defend the Soviet interests. The Cold War headed towards his climax. And by that, Germany and Berlin became more and more the focus point of the confrontation between the East and the West.

At the first summit between the new U.S. President and the long time Soviet "warhorse" in Vienna in June 1961, the future of Germany was to become the main problem. Khrushchev declared: "If you want a nuclear war, you can get it!" John F. Kennedy replied: "Than it is going to be a cold winter!"

In reality it was to become a hot summer and fall. On August 13th 1961, the GDR started building the Berlin Wall, at the end of October 1961, U.S. and Soviet Tanks were facing each other at the Checkpoint Charlie in Berlin. For days the world witnessed the dangerous confrontation. The situation seemed to run out of hands at any moment. Some of the politicians, desperately looking for a solution, they even considered the use of nuclear weapons. After the U.S. intelligence had discovered that the Soviet rocket capability was not as powerful as Khrushchev tried to make believe, they considered a first strike scenario to destroy the Soviet's nuclear war-heads that could reach the United States. According to this scenario, Germany inevitably would have become a battlefield of a nuclear war.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2003 | DEUTSCHLAND AM RANDE DES ATOMKRIEGS

DEUTSCHLAND AM RANDE DES ATOMKRIEGS

Das Jahr 1961

Autor & Regie:
Kerstin Mauersberger | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Anette Kanzler

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des MDR

Am 20. Januar 1961 hielt John F. Kennedy seine Antrittsrede als neuer Präsident der USA. Er sprach von seiner Entschlossenheit, die westliche Welt gegen jede Bedrohung aus dem Osten zu verteidigen. Wenn nötig, bis zum Äußersten. Das Äußerste war der Einsatz von Atomwaffen. Chruschtschow, sein Kontrahent im Kreml, hatte zwei Wochen vorher bereits seine Entschlossenheit verkündet, die sowjetischen Interessen - wenn nötig - bis zum Äußersten zu verteidigen. Der Kalte Krieg steuerte seinem Höhepunkt entgegen. Deutschland und Berlin rückten dabei zunehmend in den Mittelpunkt der Ost-West-Konfrontation.

Beim ersten Gipfeltreffen des neuen US-Präsidenten mit dem alt gedienten sowjetischen Haudegen in Wien Anfang Juni 1961 war die Deutschlandfrage zum Hauptproblem geworden. O-Ton Chruschtschow: "Wenn sie einen Atomkrieg haben wollen, dann können sie ihn bekommen!" John F. Kennedy darauf: "Dann wird es ein kalter Winter werden!"

Tatsächlich aber gab es einen heißen Sommer und Herbst. Am 13. August 1961 wurde mit dem Bau der Berliner Mauer begonnen, Ende Oktober kam es am Checkpoint Charlie zu einer gefährlichen Konfrontation sowjetischer und US-amerikanischer Panzer, die sich dort Tage lang direkt gegenüber standen. Die Lage drohte außer Kontrolle zu geraten. Einige der Politiker, die im Hintergrund fieberhaft nach einer Lösung suchten, erwogen ernsthaft den Einsatz von Atomwaffen. Nachdem aber die USA-Aufklärung entdeckt hatte, dass die sowjetischen Raketenpotentiale nicht annährend so gewaltig waren, wie Chruschtschow immer verkündet hatte, zog man in Erwägung, die sowjetischen Sprengköpfe, die die USA erreichen könnten, durch einen Erstschlag zu vernichten. Nach diesem Szenario wäre auch Deutschland unweigerlich zum Schauplatz eines atomaren Schlagabtausches geworden.