// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2003 | FROM THE "I" TO THE "WE"

FROM THE "I" TO THE "WE"

The Collectivization of Agriculture

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast | Kerstin Mauersberger

Commissioning Editor:
Anette Boderke

Duration:
2 x 45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for RBB

Spring 1960. The media in the German Democratic Republic calls it the "victory of socialism in the countryside", a big staged propaganda hype. The last village became fully cooperative on April 14th 1960. All over the country monuments arise in honor of the event that dramatically changed the life of farmers and villages for decades to come: the officially apostrophized step by choice, that the GDR farmers in real life often took under heavy pressure, the collectivization of agriculture, the step "from me to us".

Today, many of the monuments have disappeared, but the memories of the collectivization all over the countryside, the time of the so called "LPG", the agricultural production cooperative, stayed for hundreds of thousands former GDR citizens. But what was this "collectivization of agriculture" in fact? Who wanted it, who dared to resist? What did and think both the ones responsible in the government and the "ordinary" citizen of it? The film tells the stories of those that became "free-farmers on their own clod of earth" after the land reform. It also recalls the life of the families that for hundreds of years lived on the soil that nourished them. And it's the story of cooperative farmers that suddenly became "Industrial workers on the field".

The first part of the documentary looks at the very beginning and the background of the collectivization. At the first foundations of agricultural production cooperatives in 1952, planned as "beacons on the countryside", a time when most farmers participated out of their free will. But often their light faded soon, the problems increased despite of massive state aid. After the revolt on June 17th 1953, several cooperatives dissolved. The SED now adopted a more smooth line to the farmers, they feared that too many farmers could leave the GDR. The second part of the documentary tells of a time when under the pressure of General Secretary Walter Ulbricht the "forced collectivization" took place in the late 50's. And finally of the "socialistic spring on the countryside", of the absurd visions of "agricultural cities", and of the real daily life of the LPG farmers in the GDR.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2003 | VOM ICH ZUM WIR

VOM ICH ZUM WIR

Die Kollektivierung der Landwirtschaft

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast | Kerstin Mauersberger

Redaktion:
Anette Boderke

Länge:
2 x 45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des RBB

Frühjahr 1960. Mit einem groß inszenierten Propagandarummel feiern die DDR-Medien den "Sieg des Sozialismus auf dem Land". Am 14. April 1960 ist das letzte Dorf in der DDR vollgenossenschaftlich geworden. Überall im Land werden Denkmäler errichtet, für ein Ereignis, dass wie kein anderes das dörfliche Leben über Jahrzehnte verändern sollte: Den als freiwillig apostrophierten, aber in Wirklichkeit oft unter Zwang gegangenen Schritt der DDR-Bauern "Vom Ich zum Wir".

Heute sind viele der Gedenksteine verschwunden, die Erinnerungen an die Kollektivierung auf dem Land allerdings, an die LPG-Zeit ist für Hunderttausende ehemalige DDR-Bürger noch sehr nah. Was aber war diese "Kollektivierung auf dem Land" eigentlich? Wer hat sie gewollt, wer stand dagegen? Wie dachten und handelten die da "oben"? Wie dachten und reagierten die da "unten"? Von den vielen Wegen, vom "Freien Bauer auf eigener Scholle", der sein Land aus der Bodenreform bekommen hat oder dessen Familie seit Jahrhunderten den eigenen Acker bewirtschaftete, hin zu einem Genossenschaftsbauer, zum "Industriearbeiter auf dem Land" berichtet der Film.

Im 1. Teil des Films wird von den Anfängen und den Hintergründen der Kollektivierung erzählt. Als sich 1952 die ersten LPG gründeten, damals durchaus noch freiwillig, waren sie als "Leuchttürme auf dem Lande" geplant. Doch ihr Schein verblasste oft schnell, die Schwierigkeiten häuften sich, trotz massiver staatlicher Hilfe. Nach dem 17. Juni 1953 lösten sich einige LPG sogar wieder auf. Die SED schlug nun einen sanfteren Kurs gegenüber den Einzelbauern ein, auch um deren Flucht in den Westen zu stoppen. Der 2. Teil spannt den Bogen von Walter Ulbrichts verordneten Maßnahmen zur "Zwangskollektivierung" Ende der fünfziger Jahre, deren Durchführung und Folgen, bis hin zum "Sozialistischen Frühling auf den Land", von den Visionen ganzer "Agrarstädte" bis hin zum wirklichen Alltag der LPG-Bäuerinnen und -Bauern in der DDR.