// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2002 | THE FARMER AND THE MILLIONAIRE

THE FARMER AND THE MILLIONAIRE

Khrushchev and Kennedy

Author & Director:
Kerstin Mauersberger | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Martin Huebner

Duration:
52'

Production:
astfilm productions | for MDR | ARTE // ARTE

Nikita Khrushchev and John F. Kennedy, directly they met only twice in their life. The first time during the visit of Khrushchev in the U.S., on September 16th 1959 in Washington D.C. Nikita Khrushchev, the most powerful man in the communist world, invited for a cup of tea in the afternoon. John F. Kennedy, then a young senator of Massachusetts, he was not able to get a word edgeways during the small talk of the prominent guests.

At that moment, both could not imagine that very soon, they were going to become the main players of the most dangerous time during the Cold War. The real play of power between them started in January 1961, when the 43 years old John F. Kennedy took his office as the President of the United States. The battle experienced and at that time 67 years old leader Nikita Khrushchev had reached the top of his political power. He believed that he would have an easy time with this young challenger. And right in the beginning of his presidency, Kennedy has taken flak concerning the disaster at the Bay of Pigs.

The play of power between the two leaders, more and more it was like a game of chess. No one could make any move without anticipating the next moves of the opponent. But contrary to the game of chess, no rules existed in this game, a lot of room for irrationalism and misunderstandings. One could easily get the impression that both players - although the converse was argued - were not really aware of the price that possibly had to be paid. During the climax of the Cuba crisis in October 1962, the world stood at the edge of a nuclear inferno.

The documentary tells the story of two very exceptional politicians, of two "ideal types" and their social and ideological system. It is a story full of hopes and illusions, misunderstandings and schemes. The duel between both politicians is told against the background of the then global political constellations, turning one's attention also on the biographical and psychological dispositions of the counterparts.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2002 | DER BAUER UND DER MILLIONÄR

DER BAUER UND DER MILLIONÄR

Chruschtschow und Kennedy

Autor & Regie:
Kerstin Mauersberger | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Martin Hübner

Länge:
52'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag von MDR | ARTE // ARTE

Nikita Chruschtschow und John F. Kennedy sind sich in ihrem Leben nur zwei Mal direkt begegnet. Das erste Mal 1959 während der USA-Tour von Chruschtschow am 16. September in Washington DC. Nikita Chruschtschow, der mächtigste Mann der kommunistischen Welt, hatte zum Nachmittagstee geladen. John F. Kennedy, damals junger Senator von Massachusetts, kam in der prominenten Runde noch nicht zu Wort.

Beide ahnten zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht, dass sie bald schon die Hauptakteure der heißesten Phase des Kalten Krieges sein sollten. Das eigentliche Kräftemessen der beiden begann im Januar 1961, als der 43-jährige John F. Kennedy sein Präsidentenamt antrat. Der kampferprobte 67-jährige Chruschtschow stand auf dem Höhepunkt seiner politischen Macht und glaubte, leichtes Spiel mit seinem jugendlichen Herausforderer zu haben. Kennedy geriet mit dem Schweinebucht-Debakel gleich zu Beginn seiner Amtszeit unter Druck.

Das Kräftemessen der beiden Politiker glich zunehmend einem Schachspiel. Niemand konnte agieren, ohne die möglichen nächsten Züge des Gegners durchzuspielen. Aber im Gegensatz zum Schachspiel gab es keine verbindlichen Regeln, sodass viel Raum für Irrationalismus und Missverständnisse blieb. Es macht den Eindruck, als hätten die zwei Akteure - trotz gegenteiliger Behauptungen - manchmal vergessen, was der Preis dieses Spiels hätte sein können. Auf dem Höhepunkt der Kuba-Krise im Oktober 1962 stand die Welt dicht vor dem  atomaren Inferno.

Der Film rekonstruiert die außergewöhnliche Geschichte zweier außergewöhnlicher Politiker, zweier "Ideal-Typen" ihrer jeweiligen Gesellschaftssysteme. Eine Geschichte voller Hoffnungen und Illusionen, Irrtümer und Intrigen. Erzählt wird das Duell der beiden Politiker vor dem Hintergrund der weltpolitischen Konstellationen, wobei das Augenmerk auch auf den biografischen und psychologischen Dispositionen der Kontrahenten liegt.