// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2002 | THE BRANDENBURG FARMERS CHRONICLE

THE BRANDENBURG FARMERS CHRONICLE

Part 1 | "Potato-Dreams" and "Steam-Horses"

Part 2 | "Swindler" and the "Harvest-Battle"

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast | Guenter Meyer

Commissioning Editor:
Anette Boderke

Duration:
2 x 45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for ORB

Brandenburg - a farmers land. It is here where the breathtaking "career" of the potato started in Germany, from a strange fruit to a symbol of the country. Also the German "pineapple", the sugar beet, began its fame in the Mark Brandenburg. Already Theodor Fontane told the story of the life and work of the resident farmers, and of the influence of the most famous German agriculturist Albrecht Daniel Thaer. It was none less than the "Old Fritz" who called the agriculture the first of all arts.

Those pathways and traces of Brandenburg's agrarian history follows the documentary in its first part. It tells the story of roaring farming machines and as well of the hard labor of the women in the countryside. Rare film-footage of the daily life on the fields gives an impression of the hardship of those farmers.

What was a Brandenburg village like in the Third Reich, a time when the farmers were supposed to become the "New Nobility of Blood and Earth"? What was a Brandenburg village during the war, when forced labor convicts worked on the fields and later when endless tracks of refugees in desperate need of everything were crossing towards the end of the Second World War? What is a village in a time of political changes, when banners claimed "Junkerland in Bauernhand!" ("The land of the great land owner for the farmers!") and Fontane's heroes, the nobility was expropriated?

The second part of the documentary is looking for answers to all of those questions. But it also recalls the time of the "collectivization" of the farmland in Brandenburg, when in the name of socialism the farmers were often forced to give up all independence and became rather involuntary members of the agricultural production cooperatives, the "LPG". The film also reminds of the time when the "State of Workers and Farmers" declined, and the farmers suddenly had new opportunities and new risks to face.

The well known actress Carmen Maja Antoni ("Paths Over the Land", "The Store") hosts the two-part documentary with shrewdness, mother wit, and profound humor. She plays the market-woman at the Gendarmenmarkt in Berlin, slips in the role of Lady of Friedland, Brandenburg's strangest agriculturist, and plays a ruined farmer's wife during the world economic crisis. In a movie theatre she watches Nikita Khrushchev while harvesting corn, reads as a LPG-farmer wondering in the paper "Neues Deutschland" about the heroic "harvest-battles", or receives in 1945 as a "resettler" a small piece of farmland. The Brandenburg farmers chronicle - a far field. An extraordinary story that is being told informative, exciting and entertaining.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2002 | MÄRKISCHE BAUERNCHRONIK

MÄRKISCHE BAUERNCHRONIK

Teil 1 | Von Kartoffelträumen und Dampfrössern

Teil 2 | Von Bauernfängern und Ernteschlachten

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast | Günter Meyer

Redaktion:
Anette Boderke

Länge:
2 x 45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des ORB

Brandenburg - ein Bauernland. Hier begann die atemberaubende Karriere der Kartoffel, von einer fremden Frucht bis hin zur Leitkultur des ganzen Landes. Auch die deutsche Ananas, die Zuckerrübe, kam erst in der Mark richtig zur Blüte. Schon Theodor Fontane erzählte vom Leben und Arbeiten der märkischen Bauern und berichtete vom Wirken des wohl berühmtesten deutschen Landwirts Albrecht Daniel Thaer. Und kein Geringerer als der Alte Fritz rühmte die Landwirtschaft gar als die erste aller Künste.

Diesen Wegen und Spuren Brandenburger Agrargeschichte will die "Märkische Bauernchronik" in ihrem ersten Teil nachgehen. Von fauchenden Dampfpflügen wird die Rede sein, wie vom schweren Los der Frauen auf dem Land. Die Milch kommt ins Schleudern und die ersten Raupenschlepper rattern in seltenen Filmaufnahmen über den märkischen Acker.

Was ist ein märkisches Dorf im 3. Reich, als aus den Bauern der "Neuadel aus Blut und Boden" entstehen sollte? Was ist ein Dorf im Krieg, als verschleppte Zwangsarbeiter auf den märkischen Feldern arbeiten mussten und zum Kriegsende hin die Flüchtlingstrecks mit ihrer Not Brandenburg durchzogen? Was ist ein Dorf in einer Zeit des politischen Umbruchs als auf Transparenten "Junkerland in Bauernhand" stand und Fontanes Helden, der märkische Landadel, enteignet wurde?

Der zweite Teil der "Märkischen Bauernchronik" sucht nach Antworten auf diese Fragen, erzählt aber auch von der Kollektivierung der Brandenburger Landwirtschaft, als aus "freien Bauern auf märkischer Scholle" oft eher unfreiwillige LPG-Mitglieder wurden. Der Bogen spannt sich bis in die Zeit nach dem Zusammenbruch des Arbeiter- und Bauernstaates, als sich neue Möglichkeiten aber auch Risiken für die Brandenburger Bauern auftaten.

Die bekannte und beliebte Schauspielerin Carmen Maja Antoni ("Wege übers Land", "Der Laden") begleitet mit Bauerschläue, Mutterwitz und hintergründigem Humor die zweiteilige Dokumentation. Als Marktfrau auf dem Berliner Gendarmenmarkt, als Frau von Friedland, der merkwürdigsten Landwirtin Brandenburgs oder als ruinierte Bäuerin in der Zeit der Weltwirtschaftskrise. In einem alten Dorfkino sieht sie auf der Leinwand Nikita Chruschtschow bei der Maisernte zu, liest als LPG-Bäuerin staunend im "Neuen Deutschland" die Artikel über die heroischen "Ernteschlachten" oder erhält als "Umsiedlerin" 1945 ein Stück märkischen Acker. Die Brandenburger Landwirtschaft - ein weites Feld. Eine außergewöhnliche Geschichte, informativ, spannend und unterhaltsam erzählt.