// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2001 | REVOLT ON BALTIC BEACH

REVOLT ON BALTIC BEACH

The True Story of the "Baldhead Gang"

Author:
Inge Bennewitz | Juergen Ast

Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Werner Grave | Anette Kanzler

Duration:
45'

Coproduction:
astfilm productions | NDR | MDR | funded with means of the Federal Foundation for the Reappraise of the SED-Dictatorship // MDR

Summer 1961. Although the political tensions are high - masses of people leave the GDR into the West - the GDR coastline of the Baltic Sea remains for many sun worshippers a "Holiday-Paradise", even during this hottest summer in the Cold War. Parties, flirts, relaxing under the sun ... But for eleven young men, the most beautiful days of the year end abruptly on the 1st of August 1961 behind bars. They are charged of staging a putsch by terrorism and attempted murder, following the "lead of the fascistic provocation of June 17th 1953". A political crime is constructed, two show trials are staged. The young men are altogether convicted to 21 years of imprisonment.

What did happen? The scene of action: a beer-tent on the camping ground at the city of Bansin, party mood. Young people play guitar, drink beer, dance rock-and-roll. Just for fun, five of them have their hairs shaved off, like their western hero and idol Yul Brynner. For the innkeeper, it is "Western unculture". When some of the young men are arrested by the alerted "Volkspolizei", the GDR national police, suddenly hundreds of campers start to surround the small police station at the camping ground and vent their anger heatedly about the catastrophic supply gap in the country. The few policemen on-site - having their back to the wall - are no longer master of the situation. Finally called in task forces put an end to the "revolt" brutally.

Soon after, the DEFA produces the movie "Die Glatzkopfbande" - "The Baldhead Gang". Till today, the movie is still responsible for the untruthful believe that a gang of baldhead rowdies really had terrorized the vacationers and the beaches of the Baltic Sea. What is true about the legend, what is not? What does the DEFA movie tell and what does it conceal? Now, from the point of the genuine protagonists, the documentary reconstructs the true story of the " Baldhead Gang". For the first time after forty years, the then convicted talk in public about the fate they had to suffer.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2001 | REVOLTE AM OSTSEESTRAND

REVOLTE AM OSTSEESTRAND

Die wahre Geschichte der "Glatzkopfbande"

Autor:
Inge Bennewitz | Jürgen Ast

Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Werner Grave | Anette Kanzler

Länge:
45'

Koproduktion:
astfilm productions | NDR | MDR | gefördert mit Mitteln der Bundeststiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur // MDR

Sommer 1961. Trotz der aufgeladenen politischen Atmosphäre - die Massenfluchtbewegung in den Westen ist gerade auf ihrem Höhepunkt - bleibt die DDR-Ostseeküste auch im heißesten Sommer des Kalten Krieges für viele Sonnenhungrige das absolute Urlauber-Paradies: feiern, flirten, abspannen ... Für elf junge Männer enden die schönsten Tage des Jahres am 1. August 1961 allerdings schlagartig hinter Gittern. Nach dem "Beispiel der faschistischen Provokation vom 17. Juni 1953" sollen sie laut Anklage mit Terror und Morddrohungen einen Putsch angezettelt haben. Ein Staatsverbrechen wird konstruiert, zwei Schauprozesse inszeniert. Die jungen Leute werden zu insgesamt 21 Jahren Zuchthaus verurteilt.

Was war geschehen? Ort der Handlung: ein Bierzelt auf dem Campingplatz Bansin, Partystimmung. Jugendliche spielen Gitarre, trinken Bier, tanzen Rock'n Roll. Unter ihnen fünf mit kahl geschorenem Kopf. Wie Westernheld und Idol Yul Brunner tragen sie Vollglatze - aus Jux. Für den Wirt "westliche Unkultur". Als einige der Jugendlichen von der alarmierten Volkspolizei abgeführt werden, umstellen prompt einige hundert Camper die VP-Wachbude und machen ihrem Unmut über die katastrophale Versorgungslage lautstark Luft. Die Zeltplatz-Polizei - mit dem Rücken an der Wand - ist nicht mehr Herr der Lage. Einsatzkommandos bereiten dem "Aufruhr" brutal ein Ende.

Bald darauf dreht die DEFA den Spielfilm "Die Glatzkopfbande", der maßgeblich dazu beigetragen hat, dass sich bis heute hartnäckig die Legende hält, eine Bande glatzköpfiger Rowdys habe im Sommer 1961 tatsächlich Urlauber terrorisiert und die Ostsee unsicher gemacht. Was ist wahr an der Legende, was nicht? Was erzählt der DEFA-Film und was verschweigt er? Die Dokumentation rekonstruiert den Fall der "Glatzkopfbande" nun noch einmal aus der Perspektive der Protagonisten. Nach vierzig Jahren sprechen die damals Verurteilten erstmals öffentlich über ihr erlittenes Schicksal.