// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2000 | WEIGHTLESS AND DECREPIT

WEIGHTLESS AND DECREPIT

The Story of the Mir Space Station

Author:
Juergen Ast | Karlheinz Eyermann

Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Johannes Unger | Juergen Tomm

Duration:
45'

Coproduction:
astfilm productions | ORB | SFB // ARD

It was the pride of the cosmic superpower Soviet Union. For almost 5.000 days, 370 kilometers above earth, it has orbit the earth. More than 100 spacemen and scientists from different countries used it as a space lab and a long time living quarters. It survived world political crises, economic turmoil and even the breakdown of the USSR. Now, it has fallen into disuse. Without finding investors from the West in time, the Mir, the centerpiece of the Soviet cosmonautic, will be automatically turned off on a day in July or August 2000. 11,5 tons of steel will then come crashing down on earth, burning up when entering the atmosphere, or disappear in the ocean after hitting the earth's surface.

The Mir, which means "peace", is the last thing left behind by the Soviet Empire. In the time of "Star Wars", the space station was designed as a part of the Soviet alternative concept to the U.S. Strategic Defense Initiative. But after theend of the Cold War it has lost its military value. The political breakdown and the economic decline of Russia let the technical masterpiece Mir became nearly a weightless piece of scrap metal. Due to more and more malfunctions, it often looked as if the Mir has to be shut down immediately. Now, as a matter of fact, its end is near. The Mir has to clear the way for the international major project "Alpha", a coproduction of Russia, the United States and Europe. The first basic modules for the new space station are already assembled in space. Political "hawks" in the Russian government and the persons in charge of the Russian space agency, at present they try hard to keep the Mir "alive" , but the countdown is on. The documentary tells the story of the legendary Mir space station, its time of greatness and its inexorable end.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2000 | SCHWERELOS UND ALTERSSCHWACH

SCHWERELOS UND ALTERSSCHWACH

Die Geschichte der Raumstation Mir

Autor:
Jürgen Ast | Karlheinz Eyermann

Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Johannes Unger | Jürgen Tomm

Länge:
45'

Koproduktion:
astfilm productions | ORB | SFB // ARD

Sie war der ganze Stolz der kosmischen Supermacht Sowjetunion. Fast 5.000 Tage umkreiste sie in 370 Kilometer Höhe die Erde. Über 100 Raumfahrer und Wissenschaftler aus verschiedenen Ländern nutzten sie als orbitales Laboratorium und Langzeitunterkunft. Sie überdauerte weltpolitische Krisen, wirtschaftliche Turbulenzen und sogar den Untergang der UdSSR. Nun hat sie ausgedient. Wenn sich nicht überraschend westliche Geldgeber finden, wird die Raumstation Mir, das Prunkstück der sowjetischen Kosmonautik, an einem vorprogrammierten Tag im Juli oder August 2000 abgeschaltet. 11,5 Tonnen Stahl werden dann im Sturzflug zur Erde rasen, beim Eintritt in die Atmosphäre verglühen oder nach dem Aufprall auf der Erdoberfläche im Ozean verschwinden.

Die Mir, zu Deutsch "Frieden", ist die letzte Hinterlassenschaft des Sowjetimperiums. Sie wurde in der Zeit des "Star War" mit den USA als Teil des sowjetischen SDI-Programms konzipiert. Durch das Ende des Kalten Krieges verlor die Raumstation ihre militärische Bedeutung. Der politische Zerfall und der wirtschaftliche Niedergang Russlands ließen aus dem technischen Meisterwerk fast einen schwebenden Schrotthaufen werden. Die Pannen häuften sich, oft sah es so aus, als müsste die Mir sofort abgeschaltet werden. Nun hat offenbar tatsächlich ihr letztes Stündlein geschlagen. Die Mir soll dem internationalen Großprojekt "Alpha" weichen, an dem Russen, Amerikaner und Europäer gemeinsam arbeiten. Die ersten Basismodule für die neue Raumstation sind bereits im All verkoppelt. Politische "Falken" in der russischen Regierung und die Verantwortlichen in der russischen Raumfahrtsbehörde versuchen derzeit zwar noch mit allen Mitteln, die Mir am "Leben" zu erhalten, aber der Countdown läuft. Der Film erzählt die Geschichte der legendären Raumstation Mir, ihre große Zeit und ihr unaufhaltsames Ende.