// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2000 | SECOND HOMELAND BRANDENBURG

SECOND HOMELAND BRANDENBURG

Part 1 | Escape and Expulsion

Part 2 | Arrival and a New Beginning

Part 3 | Memories and New Times

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast | Kerstin Mauersberger

Commissioning Editor:
Johannes Unger

Duration:
3 x 45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for ORB

Fifty years ago, hundreds of thousands fled from the blaze of battles of the 2nd World War, or they had to leave their homes by orders of the vanquishers. Refugees in never ending tracks headed for west, for a safer place - having just only the bare essentials with them. They came from East Prussia, Pomerania, Silesia, the so called "Neumark" and the "Sudentenland". They all had to turn over a new leaf and finally about 750.000 people found a new, a second homeland in Brandenburg.

Part 1: Probably no other region in Germany was so much influenced and marked by the dramatic events of the 2nd World War as the land of Brandenburg. The last and decisive battles raged in the sand of the Mark Brandenburg and with the end of the war, the "Neumark", the region east of the Oder River, became lost. Between 1944 and 1950, about three quarter of a million people reached Brandenburg. Most of them without any goods and chattels.

Part 2: The displaced persons amounted to a quarter of the post war population of Brandenburg. On their way off the old homeland, the "newcomers" stayed at the villages and towns between the Havel and the Spree, the Oder and the Elbe River. The local people, the "old" Brandenburgers, they themselves had to endure a hard life in the "no men's land" of Brandenburg. Now they also had to share the already narrow living space and the few food with the strangers. After the land reform and the emerging job market, things slowly improved for many of the "resettlers", as they were bashful called in the GDR.

Part 3: The integration of the new citizens was very difficult and performed inconspicuously. For decades the "resettlers" were not permitted to talk about their experiences and feelings. The "newcomers" of Brandenburg, they remained Brandenburger without a past, without a history. Not until today the reservations slowly break up, and history is becoming present.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2000 | ZWEITE HEIMAT BRANDENBURG

ZWEITE HEIMAT BRANDENBURG

Teil 1 | Flucht und Vertreibung

Teil 2 | Ankunft und Neuanfang

Teil 3 | Erinnerung und neue Zeit

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast | Kerstin Mauersberger

Redaktion:
Johannes Unger

Länge:
3 x 45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des ORB

Über fünf Jahrzehnte ist es her, dass Hunderttausende Menschen aus dem Feuer der Gefechte des Zweiten Weltkrieges fliehen oder auf Anordnung der Sieger ihr Zuhause räumen mussten. Hals über Kopf verließen sie die Heimat und zogen - nur das Nötigste rettend - in riesigen Trecks Richtung Westen. Sie kamen aus Ostpreußen und Pommern, Schlesien, der Neumark und dem Sudentenland und mussten ihr Leben neu beginnen. Rund 750.000 Menschen fanden allein in Brandenburg eine zweite Heimat.

Teil 1: Kaum eine Region in Deutschland ist von den Verwirrungen, Verwüstungen und umwälzenden Veränderungen des Zweiten Weltkrieges so sehr beeinträchtigt und gezeichnet wie das Land Brandenburg. In den letzten Kriegsmonaten tobten auf märkischem Sand die entscheidenden Schlachten und mit Ende des Krieges ging die Neumark, das Gebiet östlich der Oder, verloren. Zwischen 1944 und 1950 gelangte etwa eine Dreiviertel Million Menschen nach Brandenburg. Die meisten ohne Hab und Gut.

Teil 2: Mehr als ein Viertel der neuen brandenburgischen Nachkriegsbevölkerung, die "Neuen", blieben auf ihrem Weg aus der alten Heimat in den Dörfern und Städten zwischen Havel und Spree, zwischen Oder und Elbe. Die Einheimischen, die „alten“ Brandenburger, die mit sich selbst im Niemandsland Deutschland genug zu tun hatten, mussten den ohnehin knappen Wohnraum und die wenige Nährung mit den Fremden teilen. Mit der Bodenreform und dem entstehenden Arbeitsmarkt verbesserte sich langsam die Situation für viele "Umsiedler", wie sie in der DDR schamhaft genannt wurden.

Teil 3: Die Eingliederung der Neubürger war schwierig und vollzog sich unauffällig. Über Jahrzehnte hinweg durften "die Umsiedler" nicht über ihre Erlebnisse und Gefühle sprechen. Die "neuen" Brandenburger blieben so Brandenburger ohne Vergangenheit. Erst heute bricht langsam die Zurückhaltung auf, wird Geschichte zur Gegenwart.