// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1998 | SPOILS OF VICTORY

SPOILS OF VICTORY

German Rocket Experts Serving Stalin

Author:
Juergen Ast | Karlheinz Eyermann

Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Martin Huebner

Duration:
30' | 45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for MDR

In 1945, special forces of the victorious allied powers are scanning devastated Germany in search of a special kind of "booty". On top of the wish list, the "wonder weapon" V2. Stalin turns his special attention to the German experts. Wernher von Braun, the mastermind of the V2 rocket, he already is in the hands of the Americans. And so as a start, the Soviet's have to be satisfied with Helmut Groetrupp, also one of the leading rocket scientists. In the summer of 1945, the Soviets "recruit" some 5.000 German specialists and with this new manpower they start to reactivate the biggest weapon factory of the Nazis at Bleicherode near the Harz mountains. It is here where once the V2 rockets were mass-produced. The prospects for Groetrupp, Albring, and the other German experts are tempting: food, good payment, firm employment contracts.

But by October 22nd 1946, all dreams had to be messed up. In the early morning, suddenly Soviet special forces appear and they confront the stunned Germans with the drastic words: "By orders from the Soviet military administration, you now must work for five years in the Soviet Union. You may take your wife and children along, and as many things as you wish." The final destination is Gorodomlia, an island 250 miles away from Moscow.

The documentary tells of the fate of the German "rocket slaves", it recalls the deportation, the everyday life far away from home, the life in a "golden cage", the hopes and the very desperate moments. In focus is the story of Werner Albring, who only returned in 1953 with his family and found a new home in Dresden. "The Victor's booty" - a in-depth look at backgrounds, methods and aims of the probably largest "know-how deal" during the Cold War. Till today, it is a story full of myths and legends. And still many regard those German rocket experts as the real fathers of the Soviet's success in space.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1998 | SIEGESBEUTE

SIEGESBEUTE

Deutsche Raketenspezialisten im Dienste Stalins

Autor:
Jürgen Ast | Karlheinz Eyermann

Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Martin Hübner

Länge:
30' | 45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des MDR

Spezialeinheiten der Siegermächte durchkämmen im Jahr 1945 das zerstörte Deutschland nach geeigneter "Beute". Die "Wunderwaffe" V2 steht ganz oben auf der Wunschliste. Das besondere Augenmerk Stalins gilt dabei den deutschen Fachleuten. Den führenden Mann der V2-Entwicklung, Wernher von Braun, hatten freilich bereits die Amerikaner "erbeutet". Die Sowjets müssen sich zunächst mit Helmut Grötrupp begnügen, der ebenfalls zu den führenden Köpfen zählte. Im Sommer 1945 rekrutieren sie 5000 deutsche Spezialisten und beginnen mit der neuen Belegschaft, in Bleicherode / Harz die größte Waffenfabrik der Nazis zu reaktivieren, in der die V2-Raketen in Serie produziert wurden. Die Aussicht für Grötrupp, Albring und die anderen Fachleute sind verlockend: Lebensmittel, gute Bezahlung, feste Arbeitsverträge.

Mit dem 22. Oktober 1946 müssen dann alle Träume über den Haufen geworfen werden. Im Morgengrauen erscheinen sowjetische Spezialkommandos und konfrontieren die überraschten Deutschen mit der Botschaft: "Auf Befehl der sowjetischen Militäradministration müssen Sie fünf Jahre in der Sowjetunion arbeiten. Sie können ihre Frau und Kinder mitnehmen und so viele Sachen wie Sie wollen." Die Reise geht nach Gorodomlja, 400 Kilometer von Moskau entfernt.

Der Film erzählt das Schicksal der deutschen "Raketensklaven", Deportation, Alltag in der Fremde, Leben im "Goldenen Käfig", Hoffnungen und Hoffnungslosigkeit. Im Mittelpunkt dabei die Geschichte von Werner Albring, der erst 1953 mit seiner Familie zurückkehrte und in Dresden eine neue Heimat fand. "Siegesbeute" - ein Film über Hintergründe, Methoden und Ziele des wohl größten "Know-how-Deals" im Kalten Krieg, um den sich bis in die Gegenwart Mythen und Legenden ranken. Für viele gelten die deutschen Raketenmänner bis heute als die eigentlichen Väter der sowjetischen Weltraumerfolge.