// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1998 | FORGOTTEN CATASTROPHES

FORGOTTEN CATASTROPHES

Fire at Shaft 208 B

Author & Director:
Kerstin Mauersberger

Commissioning Editor:
Manfred Schmidt

Duration:
45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for MDR

In February 1960 the most momentous mine accident in the history of the German Democratic Republic occurred. On February 22nd 1960, at 8:20 a.m. on that Monday morning, 174 miners were buried alive after an explosion in about 3.600 feet underground at the coal mine "Karl-Marx" near the city of Zwickau. The alarmed rescue forces instantly tried to reach the miners, but there was almost no oxygen left, only smoke, fire, unbearable heat and the vague hope to retrieve the trapped miners alive. Not until eleven hours after the fire broke out, the GDR's news agencies published the accident - when it became clear, that neither it could be kept secret nor trivialized. Up to that moment, 40 miners were rescued and thirteen dead bodies recovered. It became a six days long and desperate battle for the lives of the still trapped, but nevertheless the GDR regime refused West-Germany's offer to assist. The discovery of another gigantic fire underground, it finally stops all rescue efforts. At the end, 123 miners are dead.

The deep grief over the dead of the catastrophe, for a short time it reunited Germany during the Cold War. The German Federal Parliament and the central committee, the mining areas in the Ruhr and in the Ore Mountains, at the national mourning they all had flown the flags at half mast. For one minute of silence, all machines were shut off, all cars had stopped and the people remained in silence, in East- and in West-Germany. Afterwards, political routine took over again. A commission was established to investigate the reasons for the catastrophe ...

The documentary reconstructs in detail the events that took place. A story based on numerous documents and files that not until now, many years after, became open to the public. But first and foremost it's a story based on the memories and experiences of the directly involved: Miners, members of the rescue forces, families, medics, investigators, ...

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1998 | VERGESSENE KATASTROPHEN

VERGESSENE KATASTROPHEN

Brand im Schacht 208 B

Autor & Regie:
Kerstin Mauersberger

Redaktion:
Manfred Schmidt

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des MDR

Im Februar 1960 kam es zu dem folgenschwersten Grubenunglück in der Geschichte der DDR. Am 22. Februar 1960, einem Montagmorgen um 8.20 Uhr, verschüttete eine Explosion im Zwickauer Steinkohlebergwerk "Karl-Marx" 174 Bergmänner in 1100 Meter Tiefe. Die sofort alarmierten Rettungskräfte kämpften sich hinunter in die Schächte in denen es kaum noch Sauerstoff gab, nur noch Qualm, Feuer, Hitze und die vage Hoffnung, die eingeschlossenen Kumpel lebend bergen zu können. Erst 11 Stunden nach Ausbruch des Brandes gaben die Nachrichtenagenturen der DDR das Unglück bekannt. Als offensichtlich war, dass es weder verschwiegen noch bagatellisiert werden kann. Bis dahin hatten die Rettungsmannschaften 40 Bergleute lebend hoch geholt und 13 Männer tot geborgen. Sechs Tage kämpft man verzweifelt um das Leben der noch Eingeschlossenen, die angebotene Hilfe aus Westdeutschland weist die DDR-Regierung allerdings zurück. Ein weiterer großer Brandherd, der von den Rettungsmannschaften entdeckt wird führt zum Abbruch aller Maßnahmen. Die schreckliche Bilanz am Ende: 123 Tote.

Die Trauer um die Toten des Unglücks vereinte Deutschland noch einmal mitten im Kalten Krieg. Der Bundestag und das Zentralkomitee, die Bergbaureviere im Ruhrgebiet und im Erzgebirge hatten zur Staatstauer die Fahnen auf Halbmast gesetzt. Alle Maschinen und Autos standen in Ost- und Westdeutschland zu einer Gedenkminute still, alle Menschen verharrten. Danach ging man wieder zur politischen Tagesordnung über. Eine Regierungskommission wird eingesetzt und soll die Ursachen der Katastrophe aufklären ...

Die Rekonstruktion der Ereignisse stützt sich auf zahlreiche Akten und Dokumente die erst jetzt, viele Jahre danach, zugänglich geworden sind, vor allem aber auf die Erinnerungen und Erlebnisberichte unmittelbar Beteiligter: Bergleute, Retter, Angehörige, Ärzte, Ermittler, ...