// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1996 | THE ZEISS STORY

THE ZEISS STORY

About the History of a German Enterprise

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast | Martin Huebner

Commissioning Editor:
Manfred Schmidt

Duration:
45'

Production:
MDR // ARD

Zeiss - a name that traveled the world. Craftsmanship made in Germany. An enterprise with a 150 years long, eventful history. It started as a manufactory and became a global player enterprise. Microscopes, Telescopes, Cameras - optical instruments manufactured with absolute precision for science and industry, medicine and the military.

Rarely, the fate of a company was so very much connected with the historic changes of the country as it was in the case of Carl Zeiss Jena. The year 1945 marked the crucial break in the company's history. Already prior to the end of the Second World War, the Allies were very much interested in the know-how of the German scientists. The first that served themselves, were the Americans. When eight weeks later, the Soviets arrived in Jena, important documents and equipment was already gone. America's probably most important spoils of victory: 84 managers and specialists. With the resettlement of the Zeiss elite to the American sector, a new chapter in the history of the steeped in tradition company had begun. Soon after two Zeiss enterprises were to become tough competitors on a global market they had to share, "Carl-Zeiss East" and "Carl-Zeiss West".

Former colleagues became competitors, and later competitors became enemies. The time of the Cold War, the time of head-hunting, sabotage and espionage. Zeiss vs. Zeiss - free trade vs. socialistic planned economy. Zeiss Jena advanced to the role enterprise of the ambitious GDR leadership. It was the politbureau's pride and joy. Then, 1990, the German reunification. Free trade came back to Thuringia, but all hopes for a new, reunited Zeiss enterprise turned out to be difficult. Carl Zeiss Oberkochen is granted the permission to continue with the tradition of Carl Zeiss. The former nationally owned enterprise in Jena, the Jenoptic Ltd., pins one's hopes on billions from the "Treuhand" and on Lothar Spaeth ... "The Zeiss Story" - the story of a German enterprise, just an example out of many but matchless at the same time.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1996 | DIE ZEISS-STORY

DIE ZEISS-STORY

Zur Geschichte einer deutschen Firma

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast | Martin Hübner

Redaktion:
Manfred Schmidt

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
MDR // ARD

Zeiss - ein Name, der um die Welt ging. Markenzeichen deutscher Wertarbeit. Ein Unternehmen, dessen wechselvolle Geschichte vor 150 Jahren begann. Von der Manufaktur zum Konzern. Mikroskope, Fernrohre, Kameras - Optik und Präzision für Wissenschaft und Industrie, für Medizin und Militär.

Wohl nur selten in der Geschichte war das Schicksal eines Unternehmens so eng mit der Nation verbunden, wie im Fall von Carl Zeiss Jena. Der Zusammenbruch 1945 markierte die entscheidende Zäsur in der Firmengeschichte. Bereits vor Beendigung des Krieges lag das deutsche "Know-how" Zentrum im Visier der Alliierten. Als erstes bedienten sich die Amerikaner. Als die Sowjets acht Wochen später in Jena eintrafen, waren wichtige Unterlagen und Geräte schon abtransportiert. Die wohl wichtigste Siegesbeute der Amerikaner: 84 führende Manager und Spezialisten. Mit der Umsiedelung der Zeiss-Elite in den amerikanischen Sektor begann ein neues Kapitel in der Geschichte der traditionsreichen Firma. Bald schon wetteiferten zwei verschiedene Zeiss-Firmen um Marktanteile und Absatzgebiete, "Carl-Zeiss Ost" und "Carl-Zeiss West".

Aus Kollegen wurden Konkurrenten, aus Konkurrenten Feinde. Die Zeit des Kalten Krieges, die Zeit der Spaltung. Abwerbung, Sabotage, Spionage. Zeiss gegen Zeiss - freie Marktwirtschaft gegen sozialistische Planwirtschaft. Zeiss Jena avancierte zum Vorzeige-Unternehmen der ehrgeizigen DDR-Führung. Der ganze Stolz des Politbüros. 1990, Wiedervereinigung. Wieder Marktwirtschaft in Thüringen. Hoffnungen auf eine neue Zeiss-Einheit erwiesen sich jedoch als schwierig. Carl Zeiss Oberkochen darf weiterhin auf den guten alten Namen setzen, der VEB-Nachfolger in Jena - die Jenoptik GmbH - dagegen auf Treuhand-Milliarden und Lothar Späth... "Die Zeiss-Story" - die Geschichte einer deutschen Firma, exemplarisch und doch beispiellos.