// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1996 | ARSAMAS - 16

ARSAMAS - 16

The Secret Nuclear Cities of the Soviet Union

Author:
Juergen Ast | Karlheinz Eyermann

Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Helfried Spitra | Jan Lorenzen

Duration:
52' | 90'

Production:
astfilm productions | for MDR | ARTE // ARTE

"Potschtovie Jaschtschike" - "Post Office Boxes", that is what those cities were called colloquially, test-sites and weapon factories of the former Soviet Union. They were not to be found on any kind of map, and even today, after the break-down of the Soviet Union, they remain blank spots. For the most important "Post Office Box", the heart of the Soviet's nuclear research program, six different code names were in use: "Object No. 550", "Moscow Center 300", "KB-11", "Volga Office", "Kremljov", and "Arsamas-16".

By orders from Stalin, the Soviet's nuclear weapons factory was to be situated next to the city of Nishni Novgorod, some 400 kilometers from Moscow. Architect, master builder, and in command was none less than Lavrenti Beria, the director of the intelligence service NKVD. Tens of thousands of forced labor convicts had build the largest nuclear research center in the world. It is here where the nuclear arms race between the East and the West started.

The secret cities behind the Iron Curtain, they were constantly sealed-off. Developed by special branches of the NKVD, they all looked very similar: in the center, a statue of Lenin. A gym, a socialistic "Palace of Culture", nurseries, schools, housing areas, an own road and railroad system, and finally the nuclear weapons factory. Hundreds of thousands "Nuclear Slaves" used to live here, and still do, then highly decorated, the elite of the country. Through their "product's", the Soviet Union became a superpower.

The documentary looks back at the Soviet's nuclear history, shows unique archive footage, let distinguished scientists speak, and permits never seen and in-depth looks into the heart of the Soviet/Russian nuclear industry. At the end the film pursues the question, how the former superpower will handle its nuclear "bankrupt stock" after the downfall of the Soviet Union.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1996 | ARSAMAS - 16

ARSAMAS - 16

Die geheimen Atomstädte der Sowjetunion

Autor:
Jürgen Ast | Karlheinz Eyermann

Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Helfried Spitra | Jan Lorenzen

Länge:
52' | 90'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag von MDR | ARTE // ARTE

"Potschtowije Jaschtschike" - Postschließfächer, so hießen im Jargon die Städte, Versuchsgelände und Rüstungszentren der ehemaligen Sowjetunion, die auf keiner Landkarte zu finden waren und selbst heute nach dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion noch weiße Flecke sind. Das wichtigste "Postschließfach", das Herz der sowjetischen Atomwaffenforschung hatte gleich sechs Decknamen: Objekt Nr. 550; Moskau Zentrum 300, KB-11, Wolga Kontor; Kremljow und Arsamas-16.

Etwa 400 Kilometer von Moskau entfernt entstand in der Nähe der Stadt Nishni Nowgorod auf Befehl Stalins die atomare Rüstungsschmiede der Sowjetunion. Architekt, Baumeister und Befehlshaber war kein geringerer als der Chef des Geheimdienstes NKWD Lawrenti Berija. Zehntausende Zwangsarbeiter stampften hier das größte Kernforschungszentrum der Welt aus dem Boden, dessen Inbetriebnahme die Rüstungsspirale in Gang setzte.

Die geheimen Städte hinter dem Eisernen Vorhang waren verschlossene Objekte. Projektiert in den Spezialbüros des NKWD hatten alle ein fast einheitliches Aussehen: Im Zentrum des Objekts stand ein Lenin-Denkmal. Es gab einen Sport- und einen Kulturpalast, Kindergärten, Schulen, Wohnhäuser, ein eigenes Straßen- und Eisenbahnnetz und schließlich die Atomwaffenfabriken. Hier lebten und leben Hunderttausende von "Atomsklaven", damals hoch dekoriert, die Elite des Landes, mit deren "Produkten" die Sowjetunion zur Supermacht aufstieg.

Der Dokumentarfilm berichtet über die Entstehungsgeschichte, zeigt einmaliges Archivmaterial, lässt bedeutende Wissenschaftler zu Wort kommen und gewährt noch nie gesehene Blicke und Einblicke in das Herz der sowjetisch/russischen Atomindustrie. Am Ende geht der Film der Frage nach, wie die einstige Weltmacht mit ihrer nuklearen Konkursmasse nach dem Untergang der Sowjetunion verfährt.