// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1995 | DECREED, MEASURED, DISTRIBUTED

DECREED, MEASURED, DISTRIBUTED

The Land Reform in the Soviet Occupation Zone in Germany

Author:
Juergen Ast | Gerd Liepe

Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Johannes Unger

Duration:
45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for ORB

"Junkerland in Bauernhand!" - "The land of the great land owner for the farmers!" With this slogan in the late summer 1945, 50 years ago, a radical change took place in the Soviet occupation zone in Germany. More than 12.700 square miles land were dispossessed without compensation, 7.000 noblemen and great land owner lost their estates to more than a half million field workers, evacuees and landless farmers. At the beginning of this dramatic change, that made history as the so called "Bodenreform", the socialistic land reform, the slogan was valid: "The famer will get free on his own clod of earth." ...

The documentary-film tells the different stages of the socialistic land reform - the creation of the land commissions, the distribution of the dispossessed properties, the new villages established by the new settlers ... The documentation is a search for traces of this first "revolution top down" in the Soviet occupation zone, that in the beginning was borne and performed by a wide social stratum. And it is a critical appraisal of the present consequences and the handling with the land reform after the German reunification.

Was the land reform a "necessary democratic act", failed to do in the West, or was it an "act of caprice" of the occupying power as a preparation for a future "Soviet collectivization" in East Germany? Do the former noblemen and great land owner thump to compensation rightfully today, or is the land reform still something "very valuable"? Today, as well as 50 years ago, the opinions are divided.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1995 | VERORDNET, VERMESSEN, VERTEILT

VERORDNET, VERMESSEN, VERTEILT

Die Bodenreform in der Sowjetischen Besatzungszone

Autor:
Jürgen Ast | Gerd Liepe

Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Johannes Unger

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des ORB

"Junkerland in Bauernhand!" - unter dieser Losung begann vor 50 Jahren im Spätsommer 1945 eine radikale Umgestaltung der Landwirtschaft in der Sowjetischen Besatzungszone Deutschlands. 3,3 Millionen Hektar Boden wurden entschädigungslos enteignet, 7000 Junker und Großgrundbesitzer verloren ihren Besitz an über eine halbe Million Landarbeiter, Umsiedler, landarmer Bauern. Am Anfang dieser Umwälzung, die als "Bodenreform" in die Geschichte einging, stand noch das Motto "Frei wird der Bauer auf eigener Scholle" ...

Der Film dokumentiert die verschiedenen Etappen der "Bodenreform" - die Bildung der Bodenkommissionen, die Aufteilung der enteigneten Güter, die Gründung der Neusiedlerdörfer ... Die Dokumentation ist eine Spurensuche nach dieser ersten "Umwälzung von oben", die noch von breiten Bevölkerungsschichten getragen und vollzogen wurde, und sie ist eine kritische Bestandsaufnahme der heutigen Folgen und des Umgangs mit der Bodenreform nach der Wiedervereinigung Deutschlands.

War die Bodenreform ein "notwendiger demokratischer Akt", der in der Westzone versäumt wurde oder war sie ein "Willkürakt" der Besatzungsmacht als Vorbereitung für eine "Sowjet-Kollektivierung"? Pochen die damaligen Gutsbesitzer heute mit Recht auf Entschädigung oder ist die Bodenreform ein "hohes Gut", dass in die Einheit Deutschlands eingebracht wurde? Die Meinung zur Bodenreform fallen verschieden aus, heute, so wie vor fünfzig Jahren.