// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1994 | THE RACE TO THE MOON

THE RACE TO THE MOON

Author:
Juergen Ast | Karlheinz Eyermann

Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Martin Huebner

Duration:
45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for MDR // ARD

"That's one small step for a man, one giant step for mankind". 25 years ago, Neil Armstrong was the first man to set his foot on the Moon. July 20th 1969, the most horrible day in the history of soviet space travel. The first man on the Moon - an American. Sputnik, Gagarin, Tereshkova - the Russians were the number one every time. Now, the prestigious duel is lost, the No. 1 enemy in the class struggle, the Americans, win the battle of technologies.

How did it happen? Did Russia prepare a manned-mission to the Moon at all? Newspapers in the Soviet Union gave the impression that Russia never had any plans for such a mission. Only 25 years later, after the breakdown of the Soviet Union, the true story can be told. It was one of the greatest Soviet state secrets, the manned lunar programs and plans of the USSR.

With the successful mission of Apollo 11 the Russian plans for a manned flight to the Moon had failed. By orders, the whole equipment, the spacecrafts and the moon-rockets were destroyed. No traces should remain. The so called "Luna-Cosmonauts", after years of special training they had to keep silent - at that time forever. The race to the moon was lost and from then on it had never existed. Till today the public did never learn anything of such a Soviet mission to the Moon.

The documentary-film reconstructs the disaster of the Soviets in the context of the successful American Apollo missions. It tells the failures, the risks that were taken and the mistakes. "The Race to the Moon" - a look behind the scenes of well kept secrets and insights in one of the most exciting stories of modern space travel.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1994 | WETTLAUF ZUM MOND

WETTLAUF ZUM MOND

Autor:
Jürgen Ast | Karlheinz Eyermann

Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Martin Hübner

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des MDR // ARD

"Ein kleiner Schritt für einen Menschen, aber ein großer Schritt für die Menschheit". Neil Amstrong betrat vor 25 Jahren als erster Mensch den Erdtrabanten. Der 20. Juli 1969, der schlimmste Tag für die sowjetische Raumfahrt. Der erste Mensch auf dem Mond - ein Amerikaner. Sputnik, Gagarin, Tereschkowa - immer hatten die Russen die Nase vorn. Ausgerechnet das entscheidende Prestigeduell, das größte technologische Kräftemessen, geht an die Amerikaner, den Klassenfeind Nr.1.

Wie kam es dazu? Hatten die Sowjets überhaupt eine bemannte Mondmission vorbereitet? Die sowjetischen Medien verbreiteten damals den Eindruck, als hätte man nie daran gearbeitet. Eines der größten Staatsgeheimnisse der zusammengebrochenen Sowjetunion ist erst heute zugänglich - das Mondflugprogramm der UdSSR.

Mit der erfolgreichen Landung von Apollo 11 war die russische Mondexpedition praktisch erledigt. Die gesamte Technik wanderte per Befehl auf den Müll. Raumschiffe und Mondraketen wurden verschrottet. Die Luna-Kosmonauten, die jahrelang die Mondlandung trainiert hatten, verpflichteten sich, kein Wort jemals darüber fallen zu lassen. Der Wettlauf war verloren, also hatte es ihn nie gegeben. Für die Öffentlichkeit hat er bis heute nicht stattgefunden.

Der Film rekonstruiert das Desaster der Sowjets - vor dem Hintergrund der erfolgreichen amerikanischen Apollo-Missionen. Fehlschläge, Risiken, Irrtümer. Ein Blick hinter die Kulissen wohl gehüteter Machtverhältnisse. Einblicke in eines der aufregendsten Kapitel der modernen Raumfahrt.