// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1993 | FROM HELL TO THE STARS

FROM HELL TO THE STARS

About the History of a "Wonder Weapon"

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Martin Huebner | Johannes Unger | Juergen Tomm

Duration:
45'

Production:
MDR | ORB | SFB // ARD

Fifty years ago, on July the 8th 1943, Adolf Hitler personally gave the order to make the mass-production of the V2, the first large rocket of the world, the top priority of wartime economy. Two months later in the Harz, close to Nordhausen, the work on the largest underground weapon-factory in the 2nd World War started. The "Metropolis" of the "wonder weapons", for tens of thousands prisoners of the concentration-camp DORA-Mittelbau it became hell, more than 20.000 died.

The "wonder weapons" did not bring the so called "Endsieg", the ultimate victory. But they, as well as those who invented them, became an important asset for the necessary power after the war. The Cold War between the new superpowers had already started and the rocket as well as the atomic bomb, they were for decades the arsenal needed for a global military policy, consisting of threats and power.

The documentary-film is looking for the traces of the German rockets and their scientists. A search from Peenemuende and Nordhausen to White Sands in the USA and Kapustin Jar in Russia. It is the story of a competition, the footrace to catch the secret of the "wonder weapons" first. The film explains the different strategies of the rivals and recalls in detail the greatest know-how deal by the Americans as well as the most spectacular kidnapping in the post-war era by the Russians. From hell to the stars tells the story of the V2 and remembers the path that was taken from the hell in DORA to the Stars & Stripes and to the Red Star.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1993 | AUS DER HÖLLE ZU DEN STERNEN

AUS DER HÖLLE ZU DEN STERNEN

Zur Geschichte einer Wunderwaffe

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Martin Hübner | Johannes Unger | Jürgen Tomm

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
MDR | ORB | SFB // ARD

Vor 50 Jahren, am 8. Juli 1943, befahl Adolf Hitler persönlich die Massenproduktion der ersten Großrakete der Welt, der V2, auf die höchste Dringlichkeitsstufe der gesamten Kriegswirtschaft zu setzen. Zwei Monate später entstand im Harz bei Nordhausen die größte unterirdische Rüstungsanlage des II. Weltkrieges, das Metropolis der Wunderwaffen, in der zehntausende von KZ-Häftlingen aus dem KZ DORA-Mittelbau arbeiten mussten und über 20.000 von ihnen starben.

Die "Wunderwaffen" brachten nicht den deutschen Endsieg, aber sie wurden mit ihren Erfindern ein entscheidender Machtfaktor der Nachkriegszeit. Denn der Kalte Krieg der Sieger- und neuen Supermächte hatte bereits begonnen und die Rakete wurde zusammen mit der Atombombe das wichtigste Bedrohungs- und Machtpotential in der Weltpolitik der letzten Jahrzehnte.

Der Film sucht die Spuren der deutschen Raketen und ihrer Spezialisten von Peenemünde und Nordhausen bis nach White Sands in den USA und Kapustin Jar in Russland. Er illustriert den Kampf und den Wettlauf um das Geheimnis der "Wunderwaffen", die verschiedenen Strategien der Kontrahenten, vom größten Know-how-Deal aller Zeiten der USA bis zum spektakulärsten Kidnapping der Nachkriegszeit durch die Sowjets. Er zeigt die Wege und Umwege der V2 von der Hölle in DORA bis zum Sternenbanner und bis zum Roten Stern.