// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1992 | VISION AND REALITY

VISION AND REALITY

Director of the "Bauhaus" Prof. Rolf Kuhn

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast | Maik Roth

Commissioning Editor:
Anette Reiß

Duration:
30'

Production:
astfilm productions | for MDR

Professor Doctor Rolf Kuhn - director of the so called "Bauhaus" in Dessau. We meet him in his office. When did one have the first point of contact to the Bauhaus? How does one become the director of the Bauhaus in the German Democratic Republic and how did one stay director after the Unification of Germany? Kuhn talks about his time from 1965 to 1970 as a student in Weimar, his work at the so called "Bauakademie" in Berlin, about trying to transport visions into the socialistic reality, about success and how to support the problems. 1977 he holds the professorship for City-Sociology in Weimar, another start, but later followed by resignation. Ten years later he is appointed to the director of the Bauhaus. "First of all, I do not exclude anything from life", says Kuhn.

The legendary Bauhaus stage, the workshop dreams, the famous staircase - Rolf Kuhn describes to us his new concept of the "three time partition": Workshop-Collection-Academy. "The aim of the new Bauhaus is the turnaround of the old" - but what is the specific meaning of such a sentence? Or the new orientation "Not from the house into the house, but from the house into the region." The specific vision of an "industrial garden", that is to what Rolf Kuhn is giving a lot of his attention, for a settled character like Kuhn a kind of unusual obsession. We travel with Kuhn through the park like landscape of Woerlitz, trough the industrial landscape of Vockerode, trough Dessau North into the settlements and the craters of the mines that remind us of the moon. His mind is occupied with a hundred ideas that he wants to discuss and realize with his assistants and students. The documentary-film is a interim balance sheet, a look back and into the future of a legendary institution and his director.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1992 | VISION UND WIRKLICHKEIT

VISION UND WIRKLICHKEIT

Der Bauhausdirektor Prof. Rolf Kuhn

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast | Maik Roth

Redaktion:
Anette Reiß

Länge:
30'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des MDR

Professor Doktor Rolf Kuhn - Bauhausdirektor in Dessau. Wir treffen ihn in seinem Arbeitszimmer. Wann gab es die ersten Berührungspunkte mit dem Bauhaus? Wie wird man Bauhausdirektor in der DDR, wie bleibt man es nach der Wende in der neuen Bundesrepublik? Kuhn erzählt über seine Studentenzeit in Weimar 1965-70, die Tätigkeit an der Bauakademie in Berlin, den Versuch Visionen in die sozialistische Wirklichkeit zu setzen, Erfolge zu haben, Schwierigkeiten zu ertragen. 1977 übernimmt er den Lehrstuhl für Stadtsoziologie in Weimar, wieder ein Aufbruch, aber auch spätere Resignationen. Dann zehn Jahre später die Berufung zum Bauhausdirektor. "Ich grenze erst einmal nichts aus im Leben", sagt er.

Die legendäre Bauhausbühne, die Werkstatträume, die berühmte Treppe - Rolf Kuhn erklärt uns sein Haus und sein neues Konzept der Dreiteilung: Werkstatt-Sammlung-Akademie. "Ziel des Neuen Bauhauses ist die Umkehr des alten" - Was aber bedeutet so ein Satz konkret? Oder die Neuorientierung "Nicht vom Haus in das Haus, sondern vom Haus in die Region." Der konkreten Vision eines "Industriellen Gartenreichs" gilt Rolf Kuhns besonders Augenmerk, eine für diesen eher stillen Menschen fast ungewöhnliche Besessenheit. Wir fahren mit ihm durch die Wörlitzer Parklandschaft und die Industrielandschaft um Vockerode, in die Mondlandschaften der Tagebaue und die Siedlungslandschaften in Dessau Nord. Hunderte Ideen, die ihn beschäftigen, die er mit seinen Mitarbeitern, Studenten diskutieren und umsetzen will. Der Film bietet eine Zwischenbilanz, Rück- und Ausblicke für eine legendäre Institution und seinen Direktor.