// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1991 | PLACES AND DREAMS

PLACES AND DREAMS

The Painter Walter Nessler

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast | Thomas Grimm

Duration:
30' | 45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for DFF

Walter Nessler was born in 1912 in Germany and started to study painting in Dresden. It is there where he met the Grundig couple, both painters, and it is there where he started his resistance against the Nazi-State, in particular with his cartoon the "Hitler-Alphabet". Nessler also paints the sets for the Dance School of Mary Wigman. In 1938 Walter Nessler emigrates to England. At the very beginning of the 2nd World War he faces internment as a foreign enemy and voluntarily joins the British Army. After the War Nessler finds new inspiration in Paris, where he meets with many famous artists.

In the last decades Nessler created in London an extensive and versatile collection of his work - between new functionalism, cubistic motives and abstract collages. 1989 Nessler is honored as Senator of the University for the Arts in Dresden.

The film tells the story of the decisive moments in the life of Walter Nessler - Dresden, Paris, London - and about the dreams and nightmares in the life of a sensitive artist in the 20th Century.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1991 | ORTE UND TRÄUME

ORTE UND TRÄUME

Der Maler Walter Nessler

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast | Thomas Grimm

Länge:
30' | 45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des DFF

Walter Nessler wurde 1912 in Deutschland geboren und begann in Dresden Malerei zu studieren. Hier hatte er Begegnungen mit dem Malerehepaar Grundig und bot Widerstand gegen den NS-Staat, unter anderem mit der Karikaturmappe das "Hitler-Alphabet". Auch malt Nessler Bühnenbilder für die Tanzschule Mary Wigman. 1938 emigriert Walter Nessler nach England. Zu Beginn des II. Weltkrieges erfolgt seine Internierung als feindlicher Ausländer, er meldet sich freiwillig zur britischen Armee. Nach dem Krieg findet Nessler neue künstlerische Inspirationen in Paris. Hier hat er Begegnungen mit vielen bedeutenden Künstlern.

In den letzten Jahrzehnten schuf Nessler in London ein umfangreiches und vielgestaltiges Werk - zwischen Neuer Sachlichkeit, kubistischen Motiven, abstrakten Collagen und kreatürlichen Figurationen. 1989 erhält Nessler die Ehrensenatorwürde der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Dresden.

Der Film erzählt von den wesentlichen Stationen seines Lebens - Dresden, Paris, London - und von den Träumen und Alpträumen eines sensiblen Künstlerlebens im 20. Jahrhundert.