//
PROJECTS | 2016 | ANHALTER STATION

ANHALTER STATION

The Disappeared Gateway to the World

rbb-series: "Mysterious Places"

Author & Director:
Eva Roeger

Commissioning Editor:
Jens Stubenrauch

Duration:
45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for RBB

"Gateway to the world", that is what they called him, and when the people of Berlin talked with affection of the "Anhalter", then you could notice the wanderlust and the enthusiasm. The name of the railway station at the "Askanischer Platz" is related to the dukedom Anhalt, southwest of the Prussian capitol: soon you were able to reach further away places, sonorous places like Rome, Athen and Konstantinopel. It was a synonym for wanderlust.

The Anhalter, final destination of a true delta of tracks that behind the "Landwehrkanal" divided the city scape, that, since the dedication of the new railway building in 1880, used to be the most impressive building of the young industrial Metropol. It’s roof only overstretched an area, wider as the boulevard "Unter den Linden". Including the further south adjoining freight depot, the Anhalter was Berlin’s greatest reloading point. Everything was to be handled here: steal and postal packages, milk and meat, newspapers from all over the world. Up to the end of World War II, it was here, the logistic heartbeat of the city of Berlin. At the Anhalter, the German emperors received their guests of state, but never before the Anhalter experienced such an ostentatious propaganda orchestration, as when Adolf Hitler returned from the campaign against France in 1940.

Surviving witnesses remember the masses of people that beleaguered the railway station. They also recall their memories of the vivid life in the quarters around, the departure of children into a assumed safety, as well as the sadness of the station when thousands of refugees arrived or departed at the end of the war. Essentially the Nazi plans for the new Germania decided on the fate of the Anhalter, the war and the partition of the city, all together did set the seal on the station: In 1959, the ruin close to the border of the divided city was blasted. Only a small section of the main gate at the "Askanischer Platz" remained. Today, it is a memorial reminding of the horrors of war. In the renovated engine sheds of the Anhalter’s depot, the Berlin Technic Museum has since 1983 relics on exhibition, showing this railway history of Berlin.

The film tells the changeful and mysterious history of the Anhalter Station, that once used to be the vibrant heart of the pulsative Metropol Berlin, slowly disappearing from the cityscape, and with the memories slowly fading away.

//
PROJEKTE | 2016 | DER ANHALTER BAHNHOF

DER ANHALTER BAHNHOF

Das verschwundene Tor zur Welt

rbb-Reihe: "Geheimnisvolle Orte"

Autor & Regie:
Eva Röger

Redaktion:
Jens Stubenrauch

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des RBB

Als "Tor zur Welt" wurde er bezeichnet, und wenn der Berliner liebevoll von seinem "Anhalter" sprach, dann schwang Fernweh und Begeisterung mit. Der Name des Bahnhofs am Askanischen Platz gab die Richtung vor: das Herzogtum Anhalt südwestlich der Hauptstadt Preußens. Schon bald erreichte man jedoch fernere, klangvollere Ziele wie Rom, Athen und Konstantinopel mit der Eisenbahn. Der Anhalter Bahnhof wurde zum Synonym für Fernweh.

Der Anhalter, Endpunkt eines wahren Schienen-Deltas, das hinter dem Landwehrkanal die Stadtlandschaft zerteilte, war seit der Einweihung des neuen Bahnhofsgebäudes 1880 das imposanteste Bauwerk der jungen Industrie-Metropole. Sein Dach überspannte eine Fläche, breiter noch als der Boulevard Unter den Linden. Mit dem südlich vorgelagerten Güterbahnhof war der Anhalter Berlins größter Warenumschlagplatz. Alles wurde hier herbeitransportiert: Stahl und Postpakete, Milch und Fleisch, Zeitungen aus aller Welt. Hier schlug bis zum Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs Berlins logistisches Herz. Am Anhalter empfingen schon die deutschen Kaiser ihre Staatsgäste, eine pompöse Propagandainszenierung aber erlebte der Bahnhof bei der Rückkehr Adolf Hitlers nach dem Frankreichfeldzug 1940.

Zeitzeugen erinnern sich an die Menschenmassen, die den Bahnhof umlagerten. Sie erzählen auch von ihren Erinnerungen an das lebendige Bahnhofsviertel, an die Kinderlandverschickung und den traurigen Bahnhof der Flüchtlingsströme am Kriegsende. Die Germania-Planungen der Nationalsozialisten nahmen das Ende des Bahnhofs vorweg, Krieg und Teilung der Stadt besiegeln sein Schicksal:  die Ruine des Bahnhofsgebäudes nahe der Sektorengrenze wurde 1959 gesprengt. Nur ein Rest der Eingangsfront am Askanischen Platz blieb stehen. Heute ist es zu einem Denkmal für die Schrecken des Krieges geworden. In den restaurierten Lokschuppen des Anhalter Betriebswerks stellt das Technikmuseum seit 1983 die Relikte dieser Eisenbahngeschichte Berlins aus.

Der Film erzählt von der wechselhaften und geheimnisvollen Geschichte des Bahnhofs, der einst das lebendige Herz einer pulsierenden Metropole war und allmählich aus dem Stadtbild und dem Bewusstsein der Berliner verschwand.