// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2014 | HONECKER'S LAST SPIES

HONECKER'S LAST SPIES

or Junior and the Swan

// nominated for Queens World Film Festival 2015

Author & Director:
Konrad Ege | Daniel Ast | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Rolf Bergmann | Jens Stubenrauch

Duration:
90'

52' | World Sales: NEW DOCS

Coproduction:
astfilm productions | RBB

October 1998. In the last Cold War spy trial, three US citizens were convicted of being agents for East Germany: Kurt Stand alias "Junior", his wife Theresa Squillacote alias the "Swan", and James Clark alias "the Professor". The verdict ended their long careers as "Kundschafter". Very few Americans had sympathies for Communist East Germany.  Spying for it was unthinkable. Why did these three believe they were fighting for a just cause?

Kurt Stand's parents fled from Nazi Germany to the US where his father became a top source for the GDR. He remained undetected all his life. The parents also put their son in contact with East German intelligence. "Junior" was instructed to search for collaborators, and he found the "Swan" and the "Professor". They were trained in spycraft, expected to infiltrate high levels of the US power structure.

This film was 16 years in the making. It turned into a unique story about the Fall of the Wall. It interviews the agents, their handler, relatives and friends, framed by one of the last interviews with legendary singer Pete Seeger. A spy tale, but not a thriller. A story of lost hope and betrayal, mistakes and misjudgments, idealism and naiveté.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2014 | HONECKERS LETZTE SPIONE

HONECKERS LETZTE SPIONE

oder Junior und der Schwan

// nominiert für das Queens World Film Festival 2015

Autor & Regie:
Konrad Ege | Daniel Ast | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Rolf Bergmann | Jens Stubenrauch

Länge:
90'

52' | World Sales: NEW DOCS

Koproduktion:
astfilm productions | RBB

Oktober 1998. Im letzten Agentenprozess des Kalten Krieges werden drei US-Bürger wegen Spionage für die DDR verurteilt. Für Kurt Stand alias "Junior", seine Ehefrau Theresa Squillacote alias der "Schwan", und James Clark alias der "Professor", ist es das Schlusskapitel ihrer jahrelangen Karrieren als "Kundschafter für den Frieden". Nur wenige Amerikaner hegten Sympathien für die DDR - für sie zu spionieren war unvorstellbar. Woher kam die Überzeugung, ihre Arbeit sei der "Kampf für eine gerechte Sache"?

Kurt Stands Eltern flohen aus Nazideutschland in die USA, sein Vater gehörte später zu den wenigen Top-Quellen der DDR. Er blieb unentdeckt. Die Eltern arrangierten ein Treffen ihres Sohnes mit der Staatssicherheit. Das MfS ließ "Junior" nach weiteren "Gesprächspartnern" suchen, so kamen auch der "Schwan" und der "Professor" ins Boot. Bald begann die heimliche Ausbildung, um in die Machtzentren der USA einzudringen.

Die Arbeiten an dem Film dauerten über sechzehn Jahre. Entstanden ist eine der außergewöhnlichen Geschichten zum Mauerfall. Interviews mit den "Kundschaftern" und ihrem Führungsoffizier, Verwandten und Freunden, auch eines der letzten Interviews mit der Folklegende Pete Seeger. Eine spannende Agentenstory, aber kein Thriller. Eine Geschichte von zerstörten Hoffnungen und Verrat, Fehlern und Fehleinschätzungen, Idealismus und naiver Standhaftigkeit.