// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2014 | FRIEDRICHSTRASSE STATION

FRIEDRICHSTRASSE STATION

Spy Gate and Border Crossing

rbb-series: "Mysterious Places"

Author & Director:
Daniel Ast | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Rolf Bergmann

Duration:
45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for RBB

"The strangest railway station in Berlin", "the labyrinth of the Cold War", "station of tears", "the passage to hell" ... millions of East and West Germans had here their very personal and direct border experiences, at the most famous railway station in divided Germany. The Friedrichstrasse Station: Mourning and joy, hope and despair, longing and rage. The time till departure, the arrival, or the time while waiting for a certain train, at all that people were filled with plenty of emotions. Some demonstrated in front of the "Palace of Tears" for the right to leave East Germany, others even tried to escape directly from the station into the West. The Friedrichstrasse Station was one of the few "joints" between East and West. It was the crossing for Erich Mielke's agents, the self-proclaimed "scouts for peace". It was the first station for all tourists and visitors from West Berlin, and the last one for all East German citizens that were granted permission to leave the country.

Just the pumping heart of Berlin, the station suddenly became a final station from both sides when the Berlin Wall was erected. At the same time it turned into the most important border crossing in a torn apart City, that was to be divided for decades. It also used to be the place where hundreds of employees were daily on "duty": at the border checkpoints, in the many "Intershops" or at the platforms. The Berlin-Friedrichstrasse Station - a place in-between the worlds. The modification and upgrading of this unique "labyrinth of control" never seemed to be completed. As out of a book from Kafka, it was to become a construction by a regime with an insane obsession for total security and control.

For the very first time, the documentary tells the story of this mysterious place.   Probably nowhere else German-German history put its focus on the feeling of being divided and still belonging to one people. 25 years after the Fall of the Wall, the film takes a in-depth look at the often dramatic events that took place on the stairs, halls, tunnels and platforms of the border station. Contemporary witnesses tell of their stories and give the history of Friedrichstrasse Station a face: A refugee hidden inside a train, a loving couple in the shadow of the "Palace of Tears", an officer of the Ministry for State Security escaping to the West by subway ...

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2014 | BAHNHOF FRIEDRICHSTRASSE

BAHNHOF FRIEDRICHSTRASSE

Agentenschleuse und Grenzpassage

rbb-Reihe: "Geheimnisvolle Orte"

Autor & Regie:
Daniel Ast | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Rolf Bergmann

Länge:
45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des RBB

"Der absurdeste Bahnhof Berlins", "Das Labyrinth des Kalten Krieges", "Der Bahnhof der Tränen", "Die Höllenpassage", .. Millionen Deutsche, Ostdeutsche und Westdeutsche, haben hier, am berühmtesten Bahnhof der deutschen Teilung, ihre persönlichen und direkten Grenzerfahrungen gemacht. Zwischen Trauer und Freude, Hoffnung und Verzweiflung, zwischen Sehnsucht und Wut. Die unterschiedlichsten Emotionen brachen bei den Menschen aus, die vom Bahnhof Friedrichstraße abfuhren, hier ankamen, oder warten mussten. Einige protestierten vor dem Tränenpalast für ihre Ausreise, andere versuchten sogar vom Bahnhof direkt in den Westen zu flüchten. Der Bahnhof Friedrichstraße war eine der wenigen Nahtstellen zwischen Ost und West, er war Agentenschleuse für Erich Mielkes "Kundschafter des Friedens", erste Station für Touristen und Besucher aus Westberlin und letzte Station für die DDR-Bürger, die das Land verlassen durften.

Mit dem Mauerbau wurde der Bahnhof, eben noch das pulsierende Herz Berlins, plötzlich zur doppelten Endstation, aber auch zur wichtigsten Grenz-Passage der auf Jahrzehnte zerrissenen Stadt. Arbeitsplatz für hunderte DDR-Bürger, die ihren täglichen "Dienst" hier versahen: im Grenzregime an den Kontrollschaltern, in den vielen Intershops oder auf den Bahnsteigen. Der Bahnhof Berlin-Friedrichstraße - Ein Ort zwischen den Welten. Der Um- und Ausbau dieses einzigartigen "Labyrinths der Kontrolle" schien nie abgeschlossen. Ein kafkaesken Bau, der vom Sicherheitswahn der DDR-Herrschenden bestimmt wurde.

Der Film erzählt erstmals die Geschichte dieses geheimnisvollen Ortes erzählen. Wie vielleicht nirgendwo sonst fokussiert sich hier die deutsch-deutsche Geschichte als Gefühl der Trennung und des Zusammengehörens eines Volkes. Diesem Gefühl will der Film zum 25. Jahrestag des Mauerfalls nachgehen. Die dramatischen großen und kleinen Geschichten, die sich in den Gängen, auf den Treppen und Bahnsteigen des einstigen Grenzbahnhofs aufspüren lassen und ihnen mit den Zeitzeugen, die sie erlebten und darüber erzählen, ein Gesicht geben: Ein Flüchtling im Inneren einer Transit-Lok, ein Liebespaar im Schatten des "Tränenpalastes", ein Offizier der Staatssicherheit, der mit der U-Bahn in den Westen türmt ...