// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2013 | DARKNESS OVER GERMANY

DARKNESS OVER GERMANY

Hitler - The First 100 Days

Author & Director:
Kerstin Mauersberger | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Rolf Bergmann | Jens Stubenrauch | Dr. Katja Wildermuth | Birgit Keller-Reddemann

Duration:
30' | 45'

Production:
astfilm productions | for RBB | MDR | WDR // ARD

The film tells the fast, frightening, but still avoidable path of Germany into Adolf Hitler's dictatorship. It tells the first 100 days of Hitler's chancellorship. A short period, but still giving answers to the always same question, "How was Hitler possible?". A story full of political tricks and brutal terror, unfounded promises and well set threats, resistance and the quick elimination of all democratic forces.

It was not the "providence", as Hitler used to say after becoming Reich Chancellor and during the weeks that followed, but a "blitzkrieg" against democracy and human-rights, with the sole purpose of holding all the power in his hands. By all available means and with a breathtaking speed - one day in a brown uniform, the other in a cut with a cylinder. Astonishing how quickly the institutions the Weimar Republic based on, permitted to be overpowered by the Nazis. And most Germans? They were caught in the web of the "national community" of the Nazis, with "Hitler salute" and Swastika.

The documentary-film tells the dramatic story of events: The day that Hitler was to become Reich Chancellor on January 30th 1933, the "Day of Potsdam" on March 21st 1933, the "boycott" of Jewish shops on April 1st 1933, the new "Labor Day" on May 1st 1933 and the public burning of books on May 10th 1933, the 100th day in power of Adolf Hitler. It tells the chronic of a conquest of power never seen before. After only one hundred days, Germany had dramatically changed. All Unions and political Parties were banned. Everyone with a different view or opinion, and especially the Jewish community, they all face degradation, threats, the loss of civil-rights, humiliation and segregation. Everyone with an "un-German spirit" faces contempt and prosecution.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2013 | NACHT ÜBER DEUTSCHLAND

NACHT ÜBER DEUTSCHLAND

Hitler - Die ersten 100 Tage

Autor & Regie:
Kerstin Mauersberger | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Rolf Bergmann | Jens Stubenrauch | Dr. Katja Wildermuth | Birgit Keller-Reddemann

Länge:
30' | 45'

Produktion:
astfilm productions | im Auftrag des RBB | MDR | WDR // ARD

Der Film erzählt den rasanten, erschreckenden und dennoch nicht unaufhaltsamen Weg Deutschlands in die Hitler-Diktatur. Er erzählt die ersten 100 Tage von Hitlers Kanzlerschaft. Eine kurze Zeitspanne, die trotzdem Antworten gibt, auf die immer wiederkehrende Frage "Wie war Hitler möglich?". Eine Geschichte der politischen Tricks und des brutalen Terrors, der haltlosen Versprechungen und wohlgesetzten Drohungen, des Widerstands und der raschen Ausschaltung aller demokratischen Kräfte.

Es war nicht die "Vorsehung", wie Hitler selbst seine Ernennung zum Reichskanzler und die Wochen danach verbrämte, sondern ein "Blitzkrieg" gegen Demokratie und Menschenrechte mit dem erklärten Ziel, die Alleinherrschaft an sich zu reißen. Mit allen verfügbaren Mitteln und in einem schwindelerregenden Tempo - mal in brauner Uniform, mal in Frack und Zylinder. Bemerkenswert dabei ist, wie einfach sich die Institutionen, die die Weimarer Republik getragen hatten, überwältigen ließen. Und die Mehrheit der Deutschen? Sie wird immer mehr eingesponnen in die "Volksgemeinschaft" der Nazis, mit Hitlergruß und Hakenkreuz.

Die Dokumentation führt vom Tag der Ernennung Hitlers zum Reichskanzler (30. Januar 1933), der Errichtung der ersten Konzentrationslager und dem "Tag von Potsdam" (21. März) über den Boykott gegen jüdische Geschäfte (1. April), dem "Tag der Arbeit" (1. Mai) bis hin zu den Bücherverbrennungen am 10. Mai 1933, dem 100. Tag nach Hitlers Ernennung zur Kanzler. Die Chronik einer Machteroberung ohnegleichen. Nach diesen 100 Tagen hat sich Deutschland radikal verändert. Es herrscht der "Ausnahmezustand", die Länder sind gleichgeschaltet. Bedrohung, Entrechtung und Ausgrenzung werden zum Alltag für "Andersdenkende" und die jüdische Bevölkerung. Es gibt keine Gewerkschaften mehr, der "undeutsche Geist" wird verfolgt und verbrannt.