// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2012 | THE NO NAME ZONE

THE NO NAME ZONE

Hohenschoenhausen - Behind the Stasi Walls

rbb-series: "Mysterious Places"

Author & Director:
Daniel Ast | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Rolf Bergmann

Duration:
45'

Coproduction:
astfilm productions | RBB | funded with means of the Federal Foundation for the reappraise of the SED-Dictatorship

For decades in the middle of the district of Hohenschoenhausen in East-Berlin existed a place, that was not to find on any map, it was a "blank spot". Except the headquarter of the East-German State Security it was the largest "object", a top-secret base. For 44 years the infamous Stasi-base was an off-limits area, hidden in the cityscape and heavily secured. Only after the German Democratic Republic and the Stasi fell apart, the gates of the "No Name Zone" opened. It's an irony of history that in 1990 the former Minister of State Security, Erich Mielke, the most hated and most feared man in the GDR, was imprisoned in Hohenschoenhausen. He was to be the last prisoner of the former "central remand center" of the East-German State Security.

At Höhenschönhausen over 40.000 people were arrested by the State Security and prior by the Soviet Intelligence. They were interrogated and often physically and mentally broken. For the interrogators it was only a job that needed to be done properly, their normal workplace. For the others, those who were not there by choice, from the very first moment they knew, all rights were lost, even the right to their own name.

Not only a prison existed in this off-limits area. The base looked more like the site of a big enterprise. 2.500 full-time employees of the State Security worked here. The historic Nazi-Archives were stored here, a print office, the most secret Hospital in the GDR, the "Central Division for Investigation", ... and especially the laboratories of the "Technical Operative Sector". Here all the ideas were created, all prototypes developed, manufactured and repaired. Duplicated keys, special machines for opening letters without leaving any traces, prepared cars for observations, special communications equipment and many other usable items for the Agents and Informants of the Ministry of State Security, whatever is necessary for the surveillance of the enemy, within the country as well as abroad. The documentary takes a look behind the walls of the former "No Name Zone". It tells the dramatic stories of former prisoners and analyses the anatomy of this top-secret location in East-Germany during the Cold War.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2012 | STASI-KNAST & SPERRGEBIET

STASI-KNAST & SPERRGEBIET

Hinter den Mauern von Hohenschönhausen

rbb-Reihe: "Geheimnisvolle Orte"

Autor & Regie:
Daniel Ast | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Rolf Bergmann

Länge:
45'

Koproduktion:
astfilm productions | RBB | gefördert mit Mitteln der Bundeststiftung zur Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur

Mitten im Stadtteil Hohenschönhausen gab es für Jahrzehnte einen Ort, der auf keinem Ostberliner Stadtplan zu finden war. Ein weißer Fleck. Neben der Zentrale in der Berliner Normannenstraße lag hier das größte Objekt der DDR-Staatssicherheit. 44 Jahre lang war dieser Ort abgesperrt, abgeriegelt, abgeschirmt. 44 Jahre lang diente er der Machterhaltung, bis die Macht der SED und der Staatssicherheit zusammenbrach und sich die Tore des geheimen Sperrbezirks öffneten. Ironie der Geschichte: 1990 wurde hier der wohl am meisten gehasste und gefürchtete Mann der DDR - Staatssicherheits-Chef Erich Mielke - eingeliefert. Er war der letzte Häftling.

In der zentralen Untersuchungshaftanstalt des MfS wurden mehr als 40.000 Menschen von der Staatssicherheit und zuvor vom sowjetischen Geheimdienst festgehalten, verhört und oftmals physisch und psychisch zerstört. Für die Vernehmer war es der tagtägliche Arbeitsplatz. Für die anderen, die nicht freiwillig an diesem Ort waren, war es die Erfahrung, dass hier alles nichts mehr galt, nicht einmal das Recht auf den eigenen Namen.

Im Sperrgebiet befand sich aber nicht nur das Untersuchungsgefängnis, das Objekt war ein "Großunternehmen" mit unterschiedlichsten Abteilungen, in denen insgesamt etwa 2.500 Hauptamtliche Mitarbeiter der Staatssicherheit arbeiteten. Es gab hier u.a. ein NS-Archiv, eine eigene Druckerei, das geheimste Krankenhaus der DDR, die zentrale Ermittlungsabteilung, ... Von besonderer Bedeutung waren auch die Forschungseinrichtungen des so genannten Operativ-Technischen Sektors. Hier wurde alles projektiert, entwickelt, gebaut und wieder Instand gesetzt, was für die Bespitzelung der inneren und äußeren Feinde nur erdacht werden konnte. Vom nachgemachten Hausschlüssel, ausgetüftelten Brieföffnungsmaschinen, getarnten Beobachtungsfahrzeugen bis zur Vollverwanzung von Räumen aller Art. Die Dokumentation schaut hinter die Mauern des damaligen Sperrgebietes, erzählt dramatische Geschichten von damals Inhaftierten, seziert die Anatomie dieses einst abgeschirmten, geheimnisvollen Ort.