// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 2002 | AMOR DIDACTICUS

AMOR DIDACTICUS

The Life of Gottfried Steyer

Author & Director:
Bernd Weissig

Duration:
60'

Production:
astfilm productions

The city of Hohenheida in Saxony, approximately three miles away from the "Auerbachs Cellar" in Leipzig. A old lamp throws a little light on a large number of papers, documents and scripts. In a kind of blue light, a old man is sitting next to his piano. The 90 years old Gottfried Steyer, father of seven children, all his life long he was a priest, a musician and a theologian in Saxony.

The meaning of the Greek word "thaumazein", could be a perfect allegory to describe the life of Steyer: amazement as the drive to live at all. To see, to understand, the wish to learn more - this triangle was his destiny in life, his being. An alternative draft of today's fast-lane life, "where many are endangered to miss the wonders of life". "Amor Didacticus" is the story of a very extraordinary character, an exceptional biography. The documentary spans almost one century and invites for a walk with a man for whom nothing is inexplicable.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 2002 | AMOR DIDACTICUS

AMOR DIDACTICUS

Das Leben des Gottfried Steyer

Autor & Regie:
Bernd Weissig

Länge:
60'

Produktion:
astfilm productions

Hohenheida in Sachsen, etwa fünf Kilometer Luftlinie von "Auerbachs Keller" in Leipzig entfernt. Eine alte Stehlampe wirft einen blassen Schimmer auf unzählige Folianten, Wörterbücher und Manuskripte. Im blauen Gegenlicht ein Konzertflügel, an dem ein alter Mann sitzt. Der heute über 90-jährige Gottfried Steyer, Vater von 7 Kindern, war sein Leben lang Pfarrer, Musiker und Theologe in Sachsen.

Was hinter dem griechischen Begriff "thaumazein" steht, könnte als Sinnbild für sein ganzes Leben gelten: das "Staunen" als menschliche Antriebskraft überhaupt. Sehen, Erkennen, Mehr-Wissen-Wollen - dieser Dreischritt bestimmte sein ganzes Dasein. Ein Gegenentwurf zur unserer schnelllebigen Zeit, "in der viele Gefahr laufen, an den Wundern des Lebens vorbeizugehen". "Amor Didacticus" erzählt von einem außergewöhnlichen Charakter, von einer ungewöhnlichen Biografie. Der Film umspannt fast ein Jahrhundert und lädt ein zu einem Spaziergang mit einem Menschen für den es keine unerklärlichen Zusammenhänge gibt.