// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1997 | THE GLIENICKE BRIDGE

THE GLIENICKE BRIDGE

Connecting Divided Germany

Author & Director:
Juergen Ast | Thomas Blees

Commissioning Editors:
Johannes Unger | Juergen Tomm

Duration:
45'

Coproduction:
astfilm productions | ORB | SFB // ARD

The Glienicke Bridge - for forty years it's eastern side was part of the West, it's western side, part of the East. In the time of the German Democratic Republic, the bridge was named "Bridge of Unity", but in reality it stood as a symbol of divided Germany.

The Glienicke Bridge made history, and it is here where historic events took place. Here was the kinglike way the Prussian Royals used to travel to their residences in Potsdam. Schinkel's reconstruction from 1834, it was regarded as a "marvel" in the Prussian landscape. In 1907, a modern steel-construction replaced Schinkel's bridge. At the end of the 2nd World War, thousands of refugees from the burning capitol Berlin tried to escape over the bridge into the countryside. Finally the bridge was destroyed by the "Wehrmacht".

During the Cold War, the Glienicke Bridge became a "loophole" through the Iron Curtain. Here the first spy swap in the Cold War took place. Those secret deals, the first in February 1962, and two others in 1985 and 1986, they made the bridge well known throughout the world.

When the Wall came down, for the first time the Glienicke Bridge had every reason to be called "Bridge of Unity". Today, the barriers and all elements that served to guard the frontline of the Iron Curtain, they are gone. Hundred of cars are crossing the bridge every day, just as if it was so ever since.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1997 | DIE GLIENICKER BRÜCKE

DIE GLIENICKER BRÜCKE

Eine deutsch-deutsche Verbindung

Autor & Regie:
Jürgen Ast | Thomas Blees

Redaktion:
Johannes Unger | Jürgen Tomm

Länge:
45'

Koproduktion:
astfilm productions | ORB | SFB // ARD

Die Glienicker Brücke - Vierzig Jahre lang lag ihr östlicher Teil im Westen und ihr westlicher Teil im Osten. Zu DDR-Zeiten trug sie den Namen "Brücke der Einheit" und war doch vor allem eines: Ein Symbol der Teilung.

Die Glienicker Brücke hat Geschichte geschrieben, war ein Schauplatz historischer Ereignisse. Hier entlang führte der königliche Weg, auf dem die preußischen Regenten in ihre Potsdamer Residenzen gelangten. Schinkels Neubau von 1834 galt als "Wunderwerk" in der preußischen Landschaft, 1907 ersetzt durch eine zeitgemäße Konstruktion aus Stahl. Am Ende des 2. Weltkrieges flüchteten tausende Berliner aus der brennenden Reichshauptstadt über die Verbindung ins Umland bis zur Sprengung der Brücke durch die Wehrmacht.

Im Kalten Krieg bildete die Glienicker Brücke eines der wenigen Schlupflöcher durch den Eisernen Vorhang. Im Februar 1962 fand hier der erste Agentenaustausch statt. Diese und noch zwei andere spektakuläre Austauschaktionen 1985 und 1986 sollten die Brücke für immer weltberühmt machen.

Als die Mauer fiel, machte die "Brücke der Einheit" zum ersten Mal ihren Namen alle Ehre. Heute sind die Schlagbäume verschwunden, die Grenzanlagen abgebaut, hunderte Autos rollen über sie, als wäre es schon immer so gewesen.