// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1994 | RED SPACE TRAVEL

RED SPACE TRAVEL

The Rise and Fall of a Cosmic Superpower

// nominated for "Grimme-Preis" 1994

Author:
Juergen Ast | Karlheinz Eyermann

Director:
Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editors:
Johannes Unger | Peter Guette | Detlef Jungjohann

Duration:
2 x 45'

Production:
Tele Potsdam | for ORB | MDR | BR | ARTE

The story of the Soviet space travel: a story full of glamour and misery, glorious moments and failures, well kept secrets of catastrophes and human tragedies. Cosmonautic regarded as an instrument for the military strategists, as a challenge for the scientists and as a propagandistic wonder weapon in the Cold War.

The two-part documentary-film tells the story of the rise and fall of the cosmic superpower Soviet Union in chronological order. It recalls the so called "Sputnik-Shock" and the legend of Yuri Gagarin, the tragedy of "Sojus-1" and the hope of "Buran", the Soviet space shuttle. Not everything worked out as perfectly as it was later presented to the public. Only now available secret documents and never before in the West published film-footage grants a first time look behind the mirror. A story full of secrets, the forbidden world of the military-industrial complex of the Soviet Union. After the breakdown of the Soviet Union American buyers are very much interested in the scientific work and the technology from the former competitor. Does the possible sell-out mean the end of Russian space exploration?

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1994 | RAUMFAHRT UNTER HAMMER UND SICHEL

RAUMFAHRT UNTER HAMMER UND SICHEL

Aufstieg und Fall einer kosmischen Supermacht

// nominiert für den Grimme-Preis 1994

Autor:
Jürgen Ast | Karlheinz Eyermann

Regie:
Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Johannes Unger | Peter Gütte | Detlef Jungjohann

Länge:
2 x 45'

Produktion:
Tele Potsdam | im Auftrag von ORB | MDR | BR | ARTE

Die Geschichte der sowjetischen Raumfahrt: eine Geschichte voller Glanz und Elend, eine Geschichte mit vielen Geheimnissen, Pioniertaten, Misserfolgen, Sternstunden, Bluffs, Glücksmomenten, geheim gehaltenen Katastrophen und menschlichen Tragödien. Kosmonautik als Mittel der Militärstrategen, als große Herausforderung der Wissenschaftler und als propagandistische Wunderwaffe im Kalten Krieg.

Die 2-teilige Dokumentation schildert chronologisch die Geschichte vom Aufstieg und Fall der kosmischen Supermacht Sowjetunion, erklärt den Sputnik-Schock und die Gagarin-Legende, erläutert die Sojus-1-Tragödie und die Buran Hoffnung, dem sowjetischen Weltraumshuttle. Es lief nicht alles so perfekt, wie es die Öffentlichkeit zu Gesicht bekam. Umfangreiches, in Deutschland noch unbekanntes Filmmaterial zeigt, wie es wirklich war - Einblicke in die verbotene Welt des militärisch-industriellen Komplexes der Sowjetunion. Nach und nach kaufen nach dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion die Amerikaner das Wissen und die Technik ihrer ehemaligen Konkurrenten. Ist das das Ende der russischen Weltraumforschung?