// NEWS
// video | trailer "The Schorfheide" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places"
(TV-premiere: March 9, 2015 | ARD)

// Trailer of "The Schorfheide - Where the Powerful Went Hunting" from the ARD-series "Mysterious Places" (i.a. with retired district forester Guenther Wlost and Erich Honecker's bodyguard Bernd Brueckner).

X CLOSE
WINDOW
//
PROJECTS | 1994 | ENTERPRISE EIGEN+ART

ENTERPRISE EIGEN+ART

The Gallerist Gerd Harry Lybke

Author:
Manuela Martinson

Director:
Martin Huebner | Juergen Ast

Commissioning Editor:
Martin Huebner

Duration:
30'

Production:
MDR

"We do not only look for the profit, we intend to write art history." A very demanding idea by the gallerist and the artists of the EIGEN+ART gallery. The media is already talking of art making history, of the "stars", the "newcomers" and a new "avant-garde", the "East-Art" is the new trend. The artists from Leipzig, they seem to succeed, their work is for sale on the art market of the West. Top prices are paid for the installations, paintings and drawings made in the East. In the center of the development is the gallery EIGEN+ART and its gallerist Gerd Harry Lybke. His friends call him Judy.

It all started in the early eighties, when Lybke established a private gallery. The story of EIGEN+ART, it is the story of free spirit and subculture in a very restricted and imposed world of art in the former German Democratic Republic and meanwhile it has become a legend. Between 1983 and 1990 more than 80 exhibitions took place. There were readings, discussions, happenings, music, ...

1989 - The unification of Germany. Dramatic changes took place, but Gerd Harry Lybke has his own way to encounter the time of changes. "With only 10 West German mark I traveled 1990 to an art fair in Frankfurt." Today, Lybke is regarded as the most successful East German gallerist, known all over the world. What is his secret? How high is the price he has to pay? The documentary-portrait about the exceptional gallerist searches for answers.

// NEWS
// Video | Trailer "Die Schorfheide" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte"
(TV-Premiere: 09.03.2015 | ARD)

// Trailer zum Film "Die Schorfheide - Das Jagdgebiet der Mächtigen" aus der ARD-Reihe "Geheimnisvolle Orte" (u.a. mit Revierförster a.D. Günther Wlost und Erich Honeckers Leibwächter Bernd Brückner).

X FENSTER
SCHLIESSEN
//
PROJEKTE | 1994 | UNTERNEHMEN EIGEN+ART

UNTERNEHMEN EIGEN+ART

Der Galerist Gerd Harry Lybke

Autor:
Manuela Martinson

Regie:
Martin Hübner | Jürgen Ast

Redaktion:
Martin Hübner

Länge:
30'

Produktion:
MDR

"Wir wollen nicht in erster Linie Geld verdienen, wir wollen Kunstgeschichte schreiben." Kein geringer Anspruch, den sich der Galerist und die Künstler der Galerie EIGEN+ART auf ihre Fahnen geschrieben haben. Will man den Medien Glauben schenken, so wird auch schon kräftig Kunstgeschichte geschrieben: man spricht von den "Stars", den "Newcomern", der neuen "Avantgarde", die Ostkunst liegt im Trend. Die Künstler aus Leipzig scheinen es geschafft zu haben. Sie bestehen auf dem westlichen Kunstmarkt. Ihre Bilder, Papierarbeiten und Installationen werden mittlerweile auch mit immer höheren Preisen gehandelt. Und im Zentrum dieser Entwicklung - die Galerie EIGEN+ART und ihr Galerist Gerd Harry Lybke, von seinen Freunden Judy genannt.

Angefangen hatte alles Anfang der achtziger Jahre als Gerd Harry Lybke eine private Galerie gründete. Die Geschichte der EIGEN+ART als Freizone subkulturellen Lebens im allseits oktroyierten Kunstleben der DDR ist mittlerweile längst zu einer Legende geworden. Zwischen 1983 und 1990 fanden über 80 Ausstellungen statt. Es gab Lesungen, Gespräche, Happenings, Musik, ...

1989 - Die Wende. Die gesellschaftlichen Ereignis überstürzen sich, Gerd Harry Lybke war nicht aus der Bahn zu werfen. "Mit 10 Westmark in der Tasche fuhr ich 1990 zur Kunstmesse nach Frankfurt", erinnert er sich. Heute gilt er als erfolgreichster "ostdeutscher" Galerist, bekannt überall in der Welt. Was ist sein Rezept? Wie hoch ist der Preis dafür? Das Porträt dieses außergewöhnlichen Galeristen sucht nach Antworten dafür.